Live Drawing The Golden Globes

Updated throughout the evening

Liza Donnelly
The Nib
4 min readJan 13, 2014

--

As I have in the past, I will tweet-draw my impressions of the awards ceremony, posting here as I tweet the sketches from my tablet. It all goes pretty fast, and I can never catch as much of the lunacy as I want!

Now that the Red Carpet has come and gone (finally. getting sick of “who are you wearing?”) time to start some serious humor, with Amy Poehler and Tina Fey as hosts:

Poehler and Fey were brilliant with their opening monologue, making fun of stars in the audience. I wish I could quote what they said. One of my favorites was—and I paraphrase— when the hosts said how, in Gravity, George Clooney preferred to spin off into space than to spend any more time with a woman his age.

I don’t know who this is, but she presented the award twice to Breaking Bad (!!). Her dress was wild, like she was going to fly away any second. Most of the outfits were pretty tame, actually. I guess we have to wait for the Academy Awards for that. Or maybe it’s the economy. Not.

I am enjoying the presenters. Like the three above seemed to be having a lot of fun. It may be the creative pairing on behalf of the producers, but I think it’s the drink that is being consumed.

And every so often, these two return.

He’s come a long way since Midnight Cowboy…..

Kyra is way more than seven degrees from Kevin Bacon.

I actually could not believe my eyes. This actor had, not a ponytail, but a small rodent on the back of his head.

When you put Melissa McCarthy and Jimmy Fallon together, it is a great combination. She dominates, he acts like the embarrassed little boy. Maybe it’s not an act.

Amy gets Bono and his purple glasses to massage her shoulders, as if a prize fighter, right before she wins best actress in a television series, comedy or musical. After her name is announced, she pretend (I think) french kisses him.

Yes, Diane Keaton was wearing a suit. And yes, Woody Allen did not show up to get the big award. I wonder if Diane Keaton’s first big role had not been as Annie Hall, if she would dress as uniquely as she does in real life now. Maybe I should wonder about other things.

Leonardo dicaprio is NOT easy to draw. Who knew? I did not get it right. I am sure this is not the end of the world.

And as if saving the best for last, we were treated to a new-look-Depp.

--

--