My Quick Thoughts on Glass

There’s no structure to this piece. It’s a thought.

Jesse Marino
2 min readJul 25, 2013

I am writing this piece partially in responce to the piece What Dr. Dre Gets that Google Doesn't by Alex Goden. Go give that a read beforehand.

To reinstate Mr. Goden’s stance, Google Glass will make you the nerdiest person in the room. In some rooms, that’s “cool”, in most others, it’s not. Now I’m trying to picture a few different categories, if you will, of consumers that would be in the market for a piece of wearable technology such as Glass, and the visual persona they portray. There’s the business man, the “outgoing” geek (not an offencive term in the least), and the home geek. Now Beats by Dre obviously hit a much larger market. They are cheap, comparatively, and perform a function few will question. Nobody approaches another person wearing headphones to say either “what do they do” or “is it really necessary”. These are two questions I’ve heard people say countless times about Glass and I think this is because they stand out too much for their own good.

What I believe Glass needs to really succeed, is to make it even less obvious that somebody is wearing Glass. Now I’m not talking about when the device is in use, keep the touchpad, keep the head-tild, that’s not the issue. I believe the issue is that the device itself sticks out too much for the average consumer to feel comfortable wearing it.

If the frame of Glass was made thicker, and some of the components were spread out evenly throughout the frame, even if it still looked “off” when compared to a regular pair of glasses, it would definitley fit in more than the current design. Now that’s my ignorant design talking, as I will not question the hoops the engineers at Google had to jump through to pack that all into what they did, though I still believe a more symmettrical layout would fix a lot.

--

--