What Makes Some Men So Obsessed With Barely Legal Girls?

Now that I’m nearly 30, I really can’t imagine dating a teenager

Katie Jgln
The Noösphere

--

Photo by Kaponia Aliaksei from Shutterstock

I came across a weird video the other day.

It was a 30-year-old man showing off his 18-year-old girlfriend. She was sitting on a couch, with her knees drawn up to her chest, lipsyncing to baby voices.

Right.

All cringe of that aside, it’s not uncommon to see this kind of relationship nowadays. A man in his 30s or older and a barely legal teenager.

Hell, I’ve been dating men in their 20s and 30s when I was at the ripe age of 18 or even 16, too. (Yes, that was legal. The age of consent is 15 years old in the country I grew up in.)

But now that I’m almost 30, I can’t imagine doing the same.

I simply can’t.

The idea of actually dating an 18-year-old girl or boy feels weird to me. Very, very weird. I’ve recently met some people in their early 20s at my friend’s birthday party, and to be honest, I relate more to my 36-year-old brother than them. Not to mention literal teenagers.

So how could I be attracted to one?

Still, some men my age or older clearly don’t think this way and decide to go for teenage girls. Why? And…

--

--