Photo by Jonas Jacobsson on Unsplash

How You Can Help

J. Brandon Lowry
The No BS Guide to Medical Cannabis
3 min readJul 19, 2019

--

Updated 11/1/2019: Medium recently changed how they calculate earnings for their writers. This article has been updated to reflect those changes.

Sifting through bullshit ain’t easy. It’s a dirty and often thankless task. Hey, no one likes to be told something they believe is wrong. But I think it’s necessary, especially on a topic like this where people might be unknowingly putting their health at risk. If you think it’s a worthy cause, there are some ways you can help me out, all for the cost of a few moments’ effort.

Read To The End

Let’s face it: we have become a culture of skimmers. With so much written content out there, it was inevitable. But Medium has recently changed their earnings algorithm so that writers get paid based on how much time people spend reading their work. Therefore, I need to work on making my content so engaging that you can’t look away. But in the meantime, while I’m figuring all that out, if you could do me a solid and keep going all the way to the end, it will really help me out.

Clap Long and Loud

If you like something you’ve read here at the No BS Guide, show your appreciation by hitting the applause button! You can clap up to fifty times per piece by simply holding it down longer. More claps = more visibility, and it demonstrates to other readers that a particular piece has been appreciated by its readers.

Leave A Comment

There’s nothing more satisfying than knowing your words have actually reached someone. Okay, I’m sure some things are more satisfying, but you get my point. If you’ve learned something, if I’ve changed your mind, if I’ve pissed you off, I want to hear about it! Not only is it a good way to address points I may have missed or left unclear, but it starts a discussion for others to join in on. So please, speak your mind.

Spread The Word!

I do what I can to promote my little pub, but I’m only one man, and I can only do so much. A quick share on your social media platform of choice can make a world of difference, and help improve my reach dramatically.

Follow The Publication

This is the big one. By clicking that little follow button, you’ll be sure to see when new pieces get published. Plus, I’ll be able to send you direct communications via Medium’s Letters function, so you can stay up to date on everything happening at the publication. The more followers I get, the more legitimacy the guide gains, and it’ll be easier for me to be heard above the crowd of other writers on this platform.

Thank you so much for your support, it’s really appreciated. I’m looking forward to big things here at the No BS Guide, but it can’t happen without you.

--

--

J. Brandon Lowry
The No BS Guide to Medical Cannabis

Nomadic scientist and writer. Topics: Writing, Fiction, and Poetry. Debut novel The Glass Frog available at jbrandonlowry.wordpress.com/links