Things Developers Say and What They Mean

Travis Waith-Mair
Non-Traditional Dev
4 min readDec 13, 2018

--

Photo by Nigel Tadyanehondo on Unsplash

I wrote a follow up to this post called More Things Developers Say and What They Mean. After reading this, check out that post to learn even more .

When I got my first job as a new developer, I thought I had a good foundation of programming concepts. I knew there were things I didn’t know yet, but what I didn’t know was just how many slang and buzz words existed that don’t show up programming courses. When you are new, like I was, imposter syndrome is extremely high and you really don’t want to prove how “unqualified” you are by admitting you don’t know what people are talking about.

Because of that, I decided I would devote this post defining a couple of these new phrases for you in a safe environment. That way you don’t have to admit you feel like an imposter.

(I want to emphasize, it is ok to feel like an imposter. It’s something that never goes away. With a field that grows and changes as fast as this one does, you will never ‘arrive’ and be all knowing. One of the biggest differences between green developers and seasoned ones are that they are willing to admit that they don’t know something and are willing to ask “What is that?” The sooner you learn to get over that ‘imposter’ feeling, the more quickly you will improve as a developer.)

--

--