About

Welcome to my website, The Novel Project.

Lakis Polycarpou
The Novel Project
3 min readAug 31, 2016

--

My name is Lakis Polycarpou and I tell stories. I published my first novel, August in the Vanishing City, (Book 1 of my series, The Cyprus Chronicles) in the summer of 2015.

August in the Vanishing City, is an action romance that takes place on the island of Cyprus in the mid-1990s. I’m currently writing Book 2 of the series, which takes place in the 1950s during the revolution against British colonial rule.

I post here periodically about my progress and other things that interest me. To get advance notice of new releases and other news, please sign up for my newsletter. I also occasionally do promotions and giveaways, and I love to connect with my readers, so drop me a line.

A day spent without the sight or sound of beauty, the contemplation of mystery, or the search of truth or perfection is a poverty-stricken day; and a succession of such days is fatal to human life. — Lewis Mumford

Who I Am (A Little More About Me)

The best review I received on my first book called it “a page-turner with depth” — the perfect compliment because it describes both the kind of stories I love and what I aspire to create for my readers.

My favorite books and authors both embrace and transcend genre, and I’m moved by any kind of story that’s told well and has something meaningful to say. I love most flavors of science fiction, well-done thrillers, historical fiction and great literature. (In short, I love everything from The Unbearable Lightness of Being to The Walking Dead).

I believe we’re entering a new, exciting era for storytellers and artists. The indie publishing revolution is tearing down walls and replacing the old gatekeepers. For the first time in recent memory, it’s possible for an author with a modest-sized but dedicated readership to make a living. I am excited to be a part of this revolution. Join me!

Keep in Touch

To best way to keep up with me is to sign up for my mailing list.

You can buy my books at various retailers including Amazon, Kobo, iBooks and Barnes and Noble.

You can also connect with me on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest andInstagram. I look forward hearing from you!

About (the media version)

Lakis Polycarpou is a professional author, freelance writer, journalist and activist. His novel, August in the Vanishing City, is the first of a planned three-book series that chronicles the stories of ordinary people confronted with extraordinary situations over a half-century on the Mediterranean island of Cyprus.

As a journalist and non-fiction writer, Lakis’ work has addressed the intersection of ecology, economy, culture, technology and resource scarcity among other subjects. He has written extensively about solar and wind power, energy efficiency, cleantech startups, water technology and climate science, infrastructure, social media and resilience, distributed economies, sustainable investing and urban planning.

In May of 1999, his Washington Post essay about the tragic killings at Columbine High School (where he graduated) was quoted worldwide in discussions of suburban alienation, and led to a life-long passion for understanding the role of architecture, design and the built environment on the human psyche.

Lakis lives in the great literary village of Tarrytown, New York (home the father of American Letters, Washington Irving) in Westchester County with his beautiful wife and three amazing children.

Connect with him on Twitter and Facebook, sign up for his newsletter to get updates and advance notice of upcoming books, or email him directly to get help with a freelance writing project.

--

--