Does a change of scenery help the creativity process?

KW Davis
The Novice Novelist
5 min readFeb 10, 2020

Why, yes I do believe so.

I am a creature of habit. Even as I write this article, I sit in my usual spot for writing — I sit right in the center of the couch with a big pillow behind my back and a blanket covering my lap. Oh and my westie pups are within arm’s reach offering plenty of support and love.

Occasionally I will sit in my home office at my childhood desk but that only happens once in awhile. Let’s be honest, my couch is the comfiest spot in the house.

That being said, I also sit in the exact same position while I reading a book, watching TV or cuddling my hubby. So I wonder if that causes my creativity to be stagnant?

To a certain extent, I say yes.

That’s why I have been “changing up the scenery” every time I write.

Photo by Georgie Cobbs on Unsplash

In most projects I want to portray a type of mood within my writing. For example, while writing an article focused on writing (AKA my Medium articles) I prefer a more professional setting. In fact I do most of my article writing while at work during my lunch. When needing to write something with a serious tone, I try to maintain a more professional atmosphere.

When I have to write an email or conduct research on a new project, I either sit on my loveseat in the living room or in my home office space. So in brief, when any project requires consistent attention, I prefer a different or more secluded spot to create.

Another example is when I work on my current novel. I used to think that my productivity would only excel when I wrote in the same spot every day. While yes, this may be true I also think a change a scenery is beneficial.

That’s why I am sharing three different benefits of changing the scenery with writing.

Write in a public place to find inspiration.

I am a homebody. In fact, I run all of my errands directly after work on Friday so that I am not required to leave my house during the weekend.

Which is crucial for my introvert self to recharge.

However I also realize the importance of human interaction so I have been venturing out at least once over the weekend and have made it apart of my Sunday morning routine. Run outdoors. Breakfast, shower and head to a local coffee shop.

After ordering my usual salted caramel latte, I choose a central booth location so that I can thoroughly soak in the environment.

Sound a little crazy? Nah, I call it inspiration!

When I struggle to create a certain characteristic for a character *say that 3 times fast* all I need to do is look up and observe other patrons enjoying their coffee. I see a couple chatting intently at a booth which sparks an idea for a scene that I am struggling with. Or I notice the lady sitting across the shop has bright, curly red hair and I am inspired to create a new character with a fiery personality. And watching the barista interacting with others has convinced me to add a character trait to my protagonist.

Are you lacking inspiration with your current project? Go to a local coffee shop and just observe.

Write in the same room but change up the actual seat location.

Instead of sitting in the same spot observing the same scenery every time, simply change seats and see if that sparks inspiration.

Do you notice something different from this new angle?

I have a better view of the outdoors while sitting in my love chair. Nature inspires me on the daily.

If I am feeling out of control, I take a walk outside to be reminded about the “bigger picture.” If I am currently in a rut with my writing project, stepping outside for just a moment with the fresh air helps my creativity. Or simply if I am feeling like meh, nothing like walking the pups through the neighborhood will turn my mood around.

While sitting in the love chair I had the blinds open having easier access to the outside world. Instead of staring at the large, blank TV screen, I was looking outdoors and this kept the creativity wheels rolling.

Within a few hours I had written well over a thousand words. Simply by changing to a different seat in my living room, I was able to have a successful writing session.

Photo by Di_An_h on Unsplash

Feel the motivation to write but can’t seem to find the words?

Where do you usually think of new novel ideas?

With an overly active imagination, I do my best thinking before bed. It has become a serious problem that I have finally placed a blank notebook on my nightstand to write down any thoughts that come to mind. Instead of counting sheep, I am too busy counting plot twists.

Some days after working all day and spending most of my mental energy on answering emails, problem solving and just functioning as a human, my creative juices are zapped.

So when I have the motivation to put pen to paper but struggling to find the right words, I sit comfortably in my bed. Sitting in the exact place of origin almost recreates the scene that generated the idea to begin with.

Bed time writing is still one of my most favorite ways to change the scenery. There is just something that sparks a sense of serenity by crawling into bed early, dimming the lights, with music playing quietly and cuddling under the sheets. Sometimes I only write a couple hundred words, other nights I feel the words flow from my fingertips effortlessly.

Returning to where the idea generated has helped the words flow, even on those days when the creative well seems too dry.

As I stated previously, I am a creature of habit. I have my usual favorite coffee shop, the local B&N I like to visit and I even have the same walking route. So changing the scenery to while writing has not come easily.

I love my cozy spot on the couch. But I had this epiphany after sitting on my love chair that one Sunday afternoon.

Instead of forcing the words, I will simply sit in a different location to spark that inspiration.

So far it has worked and therefore, I shall continue to change up the scenery.

Do you have a designated spot in your house where you write?

Do you venture out of that spot often? If not, why?

Would you rather write at home in privacy? Or write in a public place like the coffee shop or library?

Leave a comment below and let’s chat!

Cordially, The Novice Novelist

--

--

KW Davis
The Novice Novelist

KW Davis shares helpful writing tips, self-growth insight, and encouraging words to all. Explore other writing pieces at writekwdavis.com 🖤