From scared Tech enthusiast to Landing Two Product Management roles in under Two years

Nsonye - Bridging the Tech Gender-gap
The Nsonye Blog
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2024
Rosemary Onwuchekwa’s story

About two years ago, Rosemary was scared but excited to jump into the tech world without any guidance at the time. Joining the Nsonye community unlocked her potential in such a big way and enabled her kick-start her Tech Journey.

Here is her inspirational story.

“It all started in 2022 when I took Nsonye’s 3-month Product Management course through their Technical Bootcamp Program. At first, I was uncertain as that was one of my first proper learning programs and wasn’t sure of what my future in the tech industry was going to be.

As we progressed, I became more confident, as the lessons which were amazingly taught by experts who shared their knowledge helped me think critically, understand users, and communicate clearly — skills I had previously lacked. Everyone in the class was different, but we all supported each other, worked on projects together, and even became friends.

By the end, I was bursting with confidence and ready to try out my new skills. Guess what? Nsonye offered me an internship through one of her training partners and mentors!

Working there, I saw firsthand how they built products and ran a community. It was incredible learning about everything from development to keeping users happy.

Even after the internship, they kept cheering me on. They gave me advice, feedback, and encouragement as I looked for jobs. All thanks to them, the constant opportunities shared, and the skills I learned, I landed not one, but TWO product manager roles in 2024!

Right now, I’m launching two different products for two different companies. Talk about being adaptable! And every step of the way, the Nsonye community has been there for me, through the friends I have made and mentors.

Looking back, it feels like magic. I went from being unsure to launching products — all thanks to Nsonye.

Nsonye is not just a place to learn, they are a launchpad that helps people like me chase their tech dreams.

I can wholeheartedly recommend the amazing programs that they offer if you’re thinking about changing careers or learning new skills in tech! It could be the start of your amazing story, just like mine.

--

--

Nsonye - Bridging the Tech Gender-gap
The Nsonye Blog

We are a social impact organization bridging the gender-gap in the tech industry for African Women/Girls through community building and upskilling programs.