Travel Nursing And Block Scheduling: Do You Need It?

The short answer is yes, and here’s why…

Rick Martinez
The Nurses Lounge

--

There are numerous negotiating points in nursing contracts these days.

Everything from a nurse’s hourly rate to housing, location, and even the duration of the assignment. But something many nurses might overlook is their schedule. Specifically the ability to exert some control and say so in it.

Of course, I’m talking about block scheduling.

Simply put, a travel nurse can have their shifts set up so that they are consecutive. The reasons may vary, often it’s so that there is more free time to explore their new city or locale. For others, like me, I like to block my days so I’m free to travel home or have my family come to see me.

While block scheduling may not be a “Top 3” perk because it doesn’t lend to more money or bonuses, it certainly lends to happiness and peace of mind. And in most opinions, those things are priceless.

A lot of travel nurses come into the profession intending to have block schedules in mind. Some travel nurse agencies will give this kind of schedule, while others will not. But frankly, it’s more often than not the decision of the hospital or unity that the travel nurse will be assigned to.

--

--

Rick Martinez
The Nurses Lounge

* Professional ghostwriter and USA Today Bestselling author * My mission: revolutionize the world of non-fiction writing. * Helping folks write their book