A Musical Exploration of 3 Jazz Guitar Giants

Sam Blakelock
Dec 22, 2015

--

[update: To learn guitar online, start a free trial at Pickup Music. I’m the co-founder of this company. It’s the fastest way to get better at guitar online]

For my Master of Music at the Aaron Copland School of Music, I elected to research and transcribe three of my favorite guitarists of all time: Joe Pass, Grant Green and Wes Montgomery.

My intent was threefold: learn about their biographical history, absorb aspects of their playing into my own, and share my findings in a relatable manner that helps other guitarists learn.

1. Who was Wes Montgomery?

2. Who was Joe Pass?

Part 1. Was Joe Pass a “Genius” of Jazz Guitar?

Part 2. What was Joe Pass’ Approach to Solo Jazz Guitar?

3. Who was Grant Green?

--

--