Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion
Published in
4 min readNov 27, 2018

--

First Kiss

I was on my way to office. It was a friday, and like most IT companies, we were allowed to come in casual wear. As I drove my car up the parking lot, the sight of beautiful girls in modern dress reminded me of my onsite visit to The United States of America a month back. ‘God I miss those days’, I thought to myself. But thinking about my girl in her casuals pushed aside every other image. The honking sounds of the vehicles behind me brought me out of the trance. I parked my car, and walked towards the elevator lobby. I waited for a long time before I got my chance to board the lift. Just as I entered the elevator, it cried out aloud, ‘I am overloaded’, making the others backtrack and they began searching for the other one.

‘Machines are far more better than the humans in expressing what they feel’, I pondered as it started climbing uphill with the help of the ropes. It was almost exhausted when the doors opened at my floor, and I walked towards cubicle. On seeing me, my associates who were either chatting or gossiping which only god knew, quickly hurried to their seats. They started working or at least pretended to. I hated this situation, everyday when seeing their team lead people put up a facade of working seriously. I placed my laptop at my desk, and it showed 10.30 am. I so wished everyday to be friday, since there won’t be much deliverables to work with. I immediately began pinging my fellow mates to decide the place for our friday lunch, which was more like our weekly ritual. We ended up deciding one of the good restaurants’ close to our office.

I then proceeded to check my mailbox, as I maintained a good habit of not doing any official work at my home. After realizing that no important mail had been pushed to my mailbox, I took out my mobile phone and texted ‘I am thinking about you right now’. Within a couple of minutes, I could see ‘1 New Message’ notification. I reacted before it could alert me with the sound. I was sometimes crazy enough to look at my screen till I get any reply. The message said, ‘Me tooooooo :)’, and I kept my mobile aside with a smile. I started searching for latest updates, and issues that my team was facing.

I was so focused on work that before I knew two hours had flown by. By that time, my chat window started to wink at me, and I was curious to see who it was. ‘Come soon!!! Meet you at the basement’, was the message in our group chat. We went to the restaurant decided earlier, and enjoyed our friday meal. We came back to our seat by 3 pm, and I continued my re-search.

Just as I was about to find the fix for the prolonged issue, my mobile made some noise.

‘Come soon dear! Don’t make me wait’, it said along with the name of my dearest.

‘Okay, cool :-)’, I replied remembering the times I missed, because of the delay. I got lost in the sweet oblivion with just the two of us. She is the most beautiful girl, I have ever seen in this world. I’m really mad about her from our very first meet. Reluctantly, I engaged myself digging my brain with the issue with the hope that time would pass quickly.

Finally on resolving the issue, I had a glance at my clock. I was shocked to see that it was already 7.30pm. I quickly packed my things and walked through the exit thinking of the consequences of being late again. I came out of the basement in the car, listening to the light music. I could hear another melody song from my mobile, and realized that I had not called her before leaving. It was like krackjack to see her photo as a caller image. With the strong will power, I attended the call, and started blabbering, ‘I’m on my way ba-baby. I won’t be late today, I swear…’, and I was interrupted. I just dropped the call, with my last words, ‘I’ll be there in 15 minutes’, with a tensed voice, and drove as fast as I could, not disturbing other people on the road.

After few minutes, I parked my car, near the building, and went inside. As soon as I entered, my dad caught me, and called out my name. I turned around to see him, and he directed me to a room. I slowly went inside, with all excitement to see my baby for the first time. My wife was lying in the bed smiling lightly in spite of pain. In that instant I knew, she had won. It was a baby boy. I could feel her pain at that moment, and doctor was there to monitor my three minutes old boy. I asked her if it was okay to lift him without letting out any words, she accepted. I took him gently in my hands with her help, and kissed him in his forehead. That was my first kiss, that brought up tears, the first kiss that made me more responsible, and the first kiss that made me so proud.

I couldn’t fight back my tears anymore, and I placed him carefully and came out. On my exit, I saw my dad standing there, looking at me. Now I could see my dad’s young face with tears, when I was born. He came near me, and hugged me, with the same love he always had with me. ‘Well they said it would take some time?’, I asked him. I got no reply from him, but I could feel his tears.

Sometimes, words cannot. describe the most beautiful moments in life. We have to live those moments.

--

--

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion

Author | co-author of DuOrb, a science fiction suspense thriller