Make It Happen

Hope — The string that holds the world

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion
4 min readFeb 4, 2020

--

Photo by dan garri on Unsplash

“Your last interview was awesome dude! Keep it up,” one of my colleagues congratulated me while we had our lunch.

“Thanks, buddy,” I said and continued to enjoy my lunch leisurely after a week’s heavy work.

“What’s your next assignment?” he asked.

“Since vacations are approaching, we have planned to interview some sports people. We are yet to decide on that,” I replied.

“I know, you will do your best as usual. But hold on! Where is our treat?” he questioned me with a goofy smile. He was my best friend at work. And as you might have guessed by now, I work in a famous news channel in our city. Recently, I won the best performer of the year award for my super-hit interviews.

“Definitely for you dude,” I winked at him and continued, “By the way, do you have any plans this weekend? Even if you do, cancel everything. Can we go for a long drive?”

“You never let go of any chance for bike rides, do you? But I can’t drive as fast as you. Can you bear with it?” he asked.

“Don’t tease me. It’s finalized then,” I said as we finished our lunch and made a move to our respective cabins.

He was right; I love bike rides. If I had no interviews scheduled on weekends, long-distance drive was the only hobby I had. My ambition was to become a racer and participate in National level competition.

On Thursday morning, we fixed an appointment with one of the famous racers who had come 4th in MotoGP World Championship. It was scheduled for Saturday evening, which ended up ruining our weekend plan. But, I felt really fortunate to interview a racer. So I convinced my friend to cancel the weekend drive at the cost of Johnnie Walker Swing Superior, worth $100, which was pretty high. I wanted to present myself to the guest as a racer, rather than an interviewer. But hardly two days were left. We needed to catch up with a lot of formalities before interviewing such celebrities. It was the busiest weekend I ever had. Yet in spite of the volume of work, I eagerly waited for the landmark day in my life.

“Hurry up dude! It’s getting late. We have to start the interview in 25 minutes. We need to set up the cameras,” my cinematographer shouted as he proceeded to our van, while I was still at my desk.

“It will take some time for me to prepare. Don’t worry, You guys carry on. I’ll be on time,” I replied. He understood what I had in mind. “Okay be quick! We are moving now,” he said in a pleasant voice.

I heard the van moving off from the office. After I had piled up the papers in the file and placed them carefully in my bag, I started to the destination. Though they had a head start, I reached a couple of minutes before them. They were shocked to see me there, but we did not have time for chit chats. We quickly got to work and I volunteered to set the cameras. We completed our arrangements 5 minutes prior to the big excitement we were waiting for.

“Camera rolling starts in 3 seconds.. 3.. 2.. 1…” he said. We were sitting comfortably on the sofa at his house. I introduced myself and the guest as usual in front of the camera, following which I started my formal questions about his performances in the current year. He answered them patiently with a sense of pride. I was excited at the thought of giving a similar interview in the near future. Usually, after a round of standard questions, we enquired about their personal life if they were comfortable with that, since it delighted the viewers. He took no offence in answering them. I had carefully handpicked questions for the next session to make it interesting. I asked several questions related to bikes. Surprisingly he didn’t know much about them. I felt I knew much better than him, which I explained with the same pride he had while answering my questions. In the course of the interview, I deliberately told him my aspiration of becoming a racer. We ended the interview with his future career goals and achievements.

As we packed our things, I approached him, unable to control my curiosity. “Can I ask you something?” I asked.

“Of course,” he said.

“After this interview I feel, I know a lot more about racing than you do. Is this enough for me to become a racer like you?” I asked him politely.

He smiled for a moment and said, “It doesn’t matter what you know or how much you know. Even my mechanics know much better than me, but they never became racers, do they?

To be a successful person, you should have the spirit in you, and the courage to do things without any fear, or backtracking. I have them. How about you?” he asked and winked at me.

I didn’t dare to open my mouth after that. “Yes he was correct,” I thought to myself.

Every person has some abstract knowledge in their field. But, even the most talented person will fail if they lack the confidence and courage to pursue it. The world only knows successful stories, but many stories are waiting to be told and people are waiting for their time. I wish all their dreams come true, and the least I can tell them is ‘Do not lose hope!

--

--

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion

Author | co-author of DuOrb, a science fiction suspense thriller