Our Story

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2018

“What do you know about me?”.

“I love you”, she said to me.

She and I were sitting in the cafe, eating our favorite dish, and drinking coffee. My thoughts were racing fast as I rewinded our memories. I liked her a lot, and we had many wonderful moments in the last two months. Nowadays, I have started feeling that she is my girl, but I didn’t feel it at first sight. Although I believed in love at first sight, I knew it won’t happen to me. After few months of our togetherness, I felt like I should propose her. But wait? Me proposing her? That’s not my style? I was lost. I didn’t know how to proceed further. And before that, I needed to know whether she felt the same. But digging in woman’s heart? I knew it is a nightmare.

So, I hid my feelings for her, and we continued being normal friends. Wait did I say friends? Well Love sometimes starts with friendship. Things were abnormally normal that I kept waiting, how she thought about me. We then went for a trip with our friends and after that I felt like I knew no one but only her. It might be a little dramatic, but ‘Trust Me!’ that was the feeling I had when I was with her. I knew lot more about her after that, and we loved hanging out together, mostly we loved the rides.

Yesterday we had our date, a long drive. She wanted me to stop somewhere and asked me, “What are your dreams?”. I told her my dreams and asked her the same. After sometime we went back to our respective homes. When I was thinking about the ride, I always recap the. good moments. That was when it struck me. Wait? Did she ask me about my dreams, suddenly? And I remembered a few conversations which were so obvious that she liked me. Am I interpreting wrongly?

That night was my worst. I kept waiting for the day to come soon till 3AM and fell asleep. When I woke up, it was around 10AM. Fuck! I shouldn’t have waited for the morning, without sleeping, and understood we should sleep to make the process faster. Lessons Learnt! When I reached office, yeah! I forgot to mention we work in same office, I asked her “shall we go to our Cafe?”. She said yes without second thoughts. She did not know that this is not our regular Cafe day. I prepared myself, and I was a bit nervous simultaneously. On our way to Cafe, I didn’t speak any words, neither did she.

We ordered our favorite dish and coffee in that Cafe and we were waiting for the dish to come in silence. It was very unusual because we would have talked a lot by that time, when we used to come there. I was nervous, and forgot to check how she is feeling. “So?”, she breaks the ice, “What do you know about me?”, she asked me. But NO! that’s wasn’t the question I was expecting. I told all about her, I guess. She didn’t even cross-check. I asked the same question to her.

“What do you know about me?”.

“I love you”, and the story begins.

--

--

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion

Author | co-author of DuOrb, a science fiction suspense thriller