What is the dangerous thing to believe?

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2018
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

‘What is simple yet the most dangerous thing to believe?” one of the guys asked me.

“Well…” I thought for a moment.

In the recent past, I had had a heated argument with one of my friends. Yes! I bet this would have occurred in everyone’s life. In the point of view of anyone watching from outside, we would appear as rogues. He won the argument by saying that it was not scientifically proven. I had no other option but to give up since I couldn’t find words to validate my points. “Is my understanding wrong?” I thought. Though I was not fully convinced, we were happy that our biggest trouble had ended smoothly.

The two of us had entirely different perspectives of things and we would always end up in an argument. Sometimes I would say the same words, “This is not scientifically proven,” and win. But later I would ponder, “How do opposite perspectives exist on Earth? “

I somehow believed that astrology might be true. I wanted to share it with my friend so that I can start exploring more on the topic. Sometimes, we share opinions with our friends fully knowing that we would end up arguing. It was something I loved. Before the argument even started, he said, “In astrology our solar system is Geocentric, but science has proven that it is Heliocentric”. Again I went blank. I quit my idea of exploring astrology.

For about a month, I brainstormed all the possibilities that can exist. But I ended up in vain, not able to find any answers for it. Later on, I happened to re-read Newton’s story about gravity. Yes, the same old apple story! He observed that apple was falling from the tree towards the ground, and found that there was a force acting on all the objects called Gravitational force. But what’s the clue here? I was scratching my head for many days, when this thought struck me, “What would have people argued about the same gravitational force before Newton’s period?”

Fuck! I was speechless. That was when I got this whole new dimension about Science. Where did the people who claim, ‘this is not scientifically proven,’ exist before Newton discovered gravity? Were they floating on the sky, and as soon as Newton found out gravity they stuck to the ground? Is Science so immature to explain everything occurring in this world? “This is not scientifically proven”, didn’t make sense to me anymore.

‘What is simple yet the most dangerous thing to believe?”, one of the guy asked me.

“Well.. according to me, ‘This is not scientifically proven’ ” I said and smiled. It would be difficult to explain, as this was not scientifically proven!

Science is continuously evolving. Thus, we cannot conclude that “If Science does not explain something, it does not exist.” We might find the reason in future.

--

--

Shanmuga Boopathy
The Oblivion

Author | co-author of DuOrb, a science fiction suspense thriller