Introducing The Obscured, a Place to Talk about Your Feelings and Mental Health.

Madeline Dyer
The Obscured
Published in
3 min readJun 10, 2019

--

Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

As someone who is recovering from severe OCD and a neuropsychiatric illness, I discovered that therapy writing is an important part of my recovery process, as is writing about my feelings and my mindset.

I wanted to set up a publication here at Medium exactly for this, and so, I’d like to introduce you all to The Obscured.

Obscurity is all about the unknown, but The Obscured is about giving a place to make the unknown known. This will be a safe place where you can write about your feelings, your deepest thoughts, and your struggles.

And The Obscured is looking for writers!

Types of pieces The Obscured is interested in:

  • first-hand accounts of mental health issues (including, but not limited to, depression, anxiety, OCD, bipolar disorder, eating disorders, and PTSD)
  • personal essays where you talk about your feelings
  • thoughts on recovery and treatment
  • therapy writing and recovery writing (can be in the form of poetry or fiction — but please make it clear it is therapy writing)
  • letters written to your illness or another person about your illness/your inner-most thoughts

--

--

Madeline Dyer
The Obscured

I write about mental health, chronic illness, books, and writing. I also write YA novels.