Luis Madrigal
The Occasional Post
2 min readJan 2, 2017

--

Like three years ago I watched this band at the beautiful El Rey theater, and we were so close the guy singing was sweating on me. It was disgusting and awesome, but mostly disgusting.

Nine years ago I was lucky enough to be at the free secret MySpace show at a bowling alley in Eagle Rock. We were so close, Jenny Lewis took my hand and sang to me for Does He Love You. That was fucking bananas.

Two years ago I was floored by this band's sound. They were opening for Purity Ring when we watched them up in Oakland for my birthday vacation. It had been a secret wish of mine to catch a band in a totally different place. You never know what you’re gonna get with opening bands, but thankfully this one was amazing. The amount of sound coming out of so few people is really impressive.

Music moves me like almost nothing else. There’s something for the good days, bad days and in between days.

(Sorry, I had to)

There’s something for specific people and moments and drives and just about everything else. And I really think it helps. It is definitely getting harder to keep up with it, but I hope to keep looking for it for the rest of my life. And at least I won’t have to listen to the Wiggles or whatever the fuck parents are currently being tortured with like they committed crimes against America.

--

--