How I didn’t listen to my dad and didn’t cofound a billion-dollar company!💰

Visal JothiBasu
The Official Blog of Delightree
3 min readFeb 1, 2020

Okay as the title goes, this is a quick story about why I should have listened to my dad and why you should listen to him if you are into startups.

A quick intro about my dad. Imagine a guy with a math-scientist look (Because, that’s what he is. A BE, ME, Phd with Gold medals 🏅) with all black and white wavy hair, perfectly dressed but scary red villainy eyes.👹 (Just kidding he’s a nice guy but he’s a serious guy though).

If you make a single math mistake he will zap you with his math power👁👁

And me. I’m the exact opposite of him. (In every way!) like Deadpool.

Chapter 1

If I had to pick a frame from my timeline where I bond with my dad, it would be my school days (10th and 12th std📚). That’s when I asked him the important question of my life “Can you help me with this math!?”

You know the answer. He said yes. I gave him a difficult problem which involves finding distance traveled between point A to B and to C with given speed (something like that).

Yeah yeah, I know its not a big problem now but its a HUGE problem for a 15-year-old who doesn’t know what math is.

This is the TIP💁🏼‍♂️ that he gave me to solve ANY problem...
1️⃣ The answer is always in the question so try to understand the question.

2️⃣ Once you get what you need to find, list down the observation which is your clue.

3️⃣ Define what you know and what you want to find.

4️⃣ Find it and put it together. You’ll solve the problem.

The 15yo me said, “Okay, I need to find a shortcut to solve this. All these steps look too much”

This is the 2nd chapter of the story,

Then 2 good things happened, 1) I completed my 12th with a pretty decent score and 2) I was happened to get hit by the startup wave of Varun Agarwal and Anu aunty.

So I decided that I should get into startups because its fun, you don’t have to do traditional boring work and if you solve a good problem you end up becoming a millionaire (or a billionaire). That’s cool, right? This is exactly what an ambivert like me wants.

I started my career in startups, freelancing with the US, UK based companies and I’m currently with Survaider - Soon to be Delightree (“Yeah Its Delightree baby!”) 🕺🏻

I’m learning a lot on this journey but the most important one is how to solve a million/billion💲problem. Be it customer acquisition, coding, marketing, sales, account management, billing, HR, etc there’s a framework.

(Especially when you are a startup and you want to scale it BIG)

1️⃣ The answer is always in the question so try to understand the question.

(Question- The problem that you are trying to solve as a startup)

2️⃣Once you get what you need to find, list down the observation which is your clue.

(Measure each and every step which is the observation)

3️⃣ Define what you know and what you want to find.

(Define the metrics and measure)

4️⃣ Find it and put it together. You’ll solve the problem.

(Now put all your metrics together and see if you can solve the problem)

Wait, does it ring any bell?? Yeah, that’s exactly how my dad wants me to solve problems. 🤯

Mind-blown Me.

And the best part of a startup is you also find step 0️⃣

0️⃣ You get to choose the problem. 💪🏽

Moral — Connect the dots, If you see a pattern, follow it.

“Also I was stupid not listening to him” But not anymore. 💡

K bye. Until Next time.

--

--