Greaux’s Tinder Journal #9.5

Waden Greaux
Waden’s Words
4 min readOct 10, 2019

--

Photo by Alex Martinez on Unsplash

As promised, I’m back with more content to add onto yesterday’s post with more observations that I have found, so far in my journey on Tinder.

The biggest of changes being that I have still retained two likes of the fifteen I once had; from what it looks like, Tinder removed all male users that liked my profile, since I was only meant to be shown women. However, I did notice that my score and ranking within the stack did suffer as a result of this change; I ran into significantly more dead profiles and bots as a result of these changes, although the number of matches I received for the day came in at seven, which is in the expected range of matches I hope to generate in one day. However, the long-term consequences of these likes being removed will eventually be seen. As for now, I appear to be good, though I do worry that I may have been shadow-banned as a result of likes being removed, as none of my recent matches have replied to me. This could just be a bad stroke of luck, but I should hopefully be fine for the time being, as I did receive a message from one of my matches today.

With that being said, I am down to a 36% message rate from 37%, and I expect it to trend downwards, especially as I begin to move to other countries where I may not be as successful (Western countries, such as Canada and the like come to mind, though I may end up being more successful due to my new photos). I have been incredibly focused on trying to gain as many matches as possible and pad my stats, although I’ve spent more time focusing on matching with Black and Hispanic women. To this end, I’ve been spending a good chunk of my time in Puerto Rico, though I continue to bounce primarily in between Russia and Lithuania for the bulk of my matches. I must admit however, that this is somewhat foolish of me, since it only serves to pad my numbers and nothing else. As the says goes, “nothing ventured, nothing gained.”

While I’ve continued to meet many beautiful and amazing women, I believe that it’s time for me to truly focus on setting sail across the world (in Tinder Passport), and attempting to gain matches in as many countries as possible, even outside of Europe. My new photos (and some more I plan on getting soon out of need for more looks) will be put to the test, and I hope to use them to gain more quality matches in more countries outside of Eastern Europe and Latin America respectively. To that end, I’ve done a bit of research on the matter: using statistics, r/Tinder, and other sources of information from experiments and user data, I attempt to look ahead to see which countries I would most likely well in, based on the findings. Adjusting my course is the best way to not only gain more matches, but have the most likelihood of meeting more women that are truly interested in dating or having sex with me, though this means that my stats will suffer along with them. Alas, it is merely a part of my journey, and entirely expected, considering that by using Tinder itself, I’m exposing myself to massive amounts of rejection. It’ll be a throwback to the days when I couldn’t even get one match in a day, and it will be most interesting to see how long I can keep my streak alive during my travels.

In preparation for this journey, and following in the tradition of me being cautious and thinking ahead, I went through the screenshots of profiles and pictures of the women I matched with, as well as the conversations we had, and added them to a special folder within the Photos app on my iPhone. Sadly, with the meager 5 GB of space that iCloud affords me without payment, I can’t even back them up in case of failure. Luckily, I have approximately 7.69 GB of space left in the 15 GB given to the Google Drive connected with my main account; although the amount of space that my vast collection of over ~6,000 photos takes up equates to ~14 GB, I predict that with some simple maneuvering and scrimping, I can successfully back up all of my matches to date, and still have enough for the future. If I’m lucky, this should take up no more than ~3–5 GB of space. In a worst case, scenario, I’ll have to move some of the information over to another account I have, but I’ll inform you of the results when the entire project is done.

Anyhow, my next iteration will be largely focused more on the philosophical and emotional changes in my life, since using Tinder. Until then, here’s to my success.

--

--