Author’s photo of their copy of the CD The Very Best Of Glenn Miller
Author’s photo of their copy of the CD The Very Best Of Glenn Miller

Monday morning’s earworm №18

In The Mood by the Glenn Miller

Jim Laing
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2024

--

Mmm. Earworms.

Taken from Wikipedia, an earworm is:

“a catchy or memorable piece of music or saying that continuously occupies a person’s mind even after it is no longer being played or spoken about.”

The aim is to help you overcome any Monday morning ‘Oh nos’ you might have.

To give you a tune that you can hum along to either out loud or to yourself.

A tune that gives your mind a happy place to retreat to while you plot your way to the relative safety of the mid-morning tea break, to lunchtime or even to the day’s end.

In The Mood by the Glenn Miller

If it was possible to point to one tune that made me a jazz fan, but I couldn’t choose Dave Brubecck’s “Take Five”, it would be Glenn Miller’s “In The Mood”.

It’s always been one of those tunes that just grabs me by the scruff of the neck and shakes me like a rag doll. This is definitely my mother’s influence. And who am I to argue?

She liked a bit of a dance in the kitchen sometimes when we were kids and the old man was at work. Showing off the little tap dancing she could do on that hard floor. We (my sister and myself) were kids, but I…

--

--

Jim Laing
The Old Anorak

Knowledge opinions fiction. Edinburgh based writer, poet & obsessive music fan. Curious to see if I can find, and keep an audience.