#BrokeBae Chronicles

Ameisha Collins
The OMG Speaks
Published in
3 min readDec 8, 2016
www.onmogul.com

It’s that time of year where we knowingly LIE, LIE, LIE! How many times have you said you were going to get someone a gift and didn’t? How many times have you lied about the greatness of a gift only to purchase one at Walmart? What dream are you selling bae knowing your account is $2 from being negative? Even worse, what face do you make when you are out at happy hour, dinner, or shopping with friends and you don’t know if your bank has the money to approve it?

Broke bae was a hashtag I developed out of sarcasm when I first stepped into the financial world, and to my surprise people have yet to stop asking “What is broke bae?” or “Am I broke bae?” While I can define what it is in many ways, it is best to show you amidst the beloved holiday season.

Growing up my Mama always said “a lie don’t care who tell it,” and baby Instagram won’t stop telling lies. No everyone is not a millionaire. No 1700 people are not becoming millionaires every day. NO! NO NO!

www.festivaladvices.com

Now, I am all about having a positive mindset to manifesting things, but we must also live in reality. 70% of Americans live paycheck to paycheck. The other 60% cannot afford an unexpected $400 emergency. So who’s to say what it is to be really “on”?

Don’t worry, I’ll wait.

It’s amusing how banks allow you to miss a payment during the holiday season to buy gifts as if the missed payment isn’t moved to the back of your loan with additional interest. Who wants bad credit for Christmas? (I can see you giving me the side eye right now. Don’t shoot me for telling the truth!)

I’m a Pinterest fanatic and I love myself a good ole arts and crafts project but sometimes crafting costs more than going to Target and simply purchasing what you need! Crafting is the biggest budget lie. Yes, it looks like it’s from the heart but it can also bankrupt you with all the coupons and sales that Micheal’s, JoAnn, and Hobby Lobby love to have.

www.blackmeninamerica.com

So you may ask “How do I show boo I love him when crafting costs too much and I cannot afford to give him (or her) a gift? Guess what, dear heart? You don’t. Nothing is more unattractive than a female who cannot manage her money and has bad credit (the same holds true for men too). I know your Instagram says that you’re balling, shows the trips you took, and the bags you carry but its time you live your truth. Tell him you are bettering yourself. Tell him you’re paying off debt, fixing your credit, etc. I mean who can get mad at that? At least you will not be a future liability. And if he lets you go, then well it wasn’t meant to be.

You, me, him, her…this America is Broke Bae.

Let me know your thoughts and follow our conversations with these hashtags: #BrokeBae #TheOMG #MoneyAndMocha

--

--

Ameisha Collins
The OMG Speaks

The heart behind “Money & Mocha” and the “Millennial Money Mentor” of The OMG Speaks