Growth & Expansion

Dre Gleaton
The OMG Speaks
Published in
4 min readApr 27, 2017

Maybe it’s just me, but why come (and yes, I said why come) when you’re supposed to be asleep you get some of the most random ideas or questions? Like right now, I keep asking myself the question, “Is it time for me to be re-potted?” You may not understand where I’m going with this, so allow me a moment to elaborate.

For about six months, I’ve been feeling like my life force was truly being sucked out of me. Those things that I used to enjoy are now suddenly irritating me. I’ve become irritated because I’m not one that likes to feel stuck in any area of my life. Now, don’t get me wrong, I completely understand the concepts of being still, not moving until its “time,” and waiting on God to open doors, but what if? What if this uncomfortable place that I’ve become comfortable in with is God opening the door or giving me the “green light” for me to push forward?

I’m no green thumb, so I decided to Google the plant re-potting concept. In my research, I read that as a plant begins to grow, its roots grow also, and for the plant to live a “fruitful” life, it must be re-potted. Re-potting is the act of moving a plant from its present residence to a new residence that has more space and therefore more room for the plant to grow.

todayshomeowner.com

What if that plant never gets re-potted? What happens next? Well, it becomes what the green-thumbers call “pot-bound.” The roots of the plant become cramped and form a tightly packed mass that inhibits the plant’s growth.

This had my mind racing. Have I allowed myself to become “pot-bound?” In many areas of my life, I can physically place my fat finger on the date and the hour that I allowed myself to become “pot-bound,” or better yet, comfortable in a place that has stunted my growth.

A friend of mine made this comment in one of our recent conversations, “Sometimes you feel stifled or feel like you’re not growing in the places where you’ve been planted because your purpose far exceeds that place.” What does all of this mean? Well, as I let the noodle (my brain) work through this whole conversation with my re-potting idea, it dawned on me that my irritation is a reminder that its time for me to be re-potted. I refuse to be like that plant whose roots are bound together and unable to grow. I need to make changes right now so that I can move on to what God has for me next.

omgvoice.com

Now, I’m not going to jump the gun or anything, but every living thing has a divine responsibility to evolve. We must know that our personal evolution process is not always about us, but it is about the people that we are going to interact with today, tomorrow, next week, and so on. Many scriptures discuss the idea of change, but this one resonates with me right now, “And we all, with unveiled faces, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit” (2 Corinthians 3:18).

Recognize when you’ve outgrown your current place of residence. Even if your physical location remains the same, mentally and spiritually, you have matured past where you are in life. I encourage you today, to proactively take time and evaluate the places where you’ve been planted and ask God if it’s time for you to be re-potted? Trust me, HE will answer you if you earnestly seek him.

The best part about being planted in a place that you’ve outgrown is that the Gardner (that G is there for a reason) knows exactly where you need to be placed to grow. The Gardner’s sole responsibility is to nurture, feed, and water you to ensure that you are in an environment conducive to your growth. Your Gardner is God!

Remember that your purpose is out there searching for you. There are people waiting in the shadows for you to get in position. Allowing God to perfectly position you in His garden will be the catalyst moment that propels you into your destiny. And in this moment, the lives of others will be forever impacted.

I’ve learned through my journey, which is still ongoing, that life is relative and God being the Master Architect that He is, knows what He is doing. We just have to see the signs and follow His plans. In closing, I’ll simply say, don’t be afraid to be re-potted because change is good and change is necessary. Your change is NOW.

If this read blessed you like it did for me writing it, don’t be afraid to share it with others.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram at @dre_speaks.

--

--