Post Traumatic Poverty Syndrome

Ameisha Collins
The OMG Speaks
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2016

Google it.

While Google may have zero hits, you cannot tell me this isn’t real. Listen soldiers return from war with PTSD. Mothers battle postpartum following childbirth. Why shouldn’t we feel the effects of poverty from our childhood? In “Secrets of the Millionaire Mind”, T. Harv Eker frequently states the financial environment we were exposed to as a child, subliminally created our individual financial blueprint. But it wasn’t until recently while joking with a cousin that I realized just how true this is.

Growing up I watched my family members congratulate one another as though getting another job was a win. “Girl you gon’ make it now,” yet months later she was wanting to add yet another job. (As an adult I realized that the rat race isn’t meant to be won.) Payday would come and she would have to decide which bill to pay and which she would get an arrangement on. Silently robbing Peter to pay Paul. Week after week, year after year. Going to college was neutral, generations had survived like so and so could the next. But no not me.

Getting the degree, the masters, the salary, etc mean nothing if you are not conscience of the mental ties you have. It’s amusing how we are quick to question bae about his or her finances, but never stop to analyze our own.

A friend posted on Facebook this morning that having good credit is only a reflection of your ability to pay bills on time, and he’s correct good credit is not the financial TKO (total knock out, if you’re slow). So what’s the point? The point is while I can easily automate all my bills I don’t, sadly I automate only those that affect my credit. Sadly, I pay my cell phone bill and cable when they text me about lack of payment. Thankfully I can always immediately respond PAY but why girl why? And one day I thought about it. I always saw people struggle to pay bills so a struggle seemed the norm. But I am not struggling and I need to mentally overcome that.

Maybe that’s not you, but let me tell you in some capacity we all suffer from it. What did you lack as child that everyone else had? Do you now buy it in excess or use it a stamp of success? I asked several certified sneakerheads about the motive behind their fetish, and many accredited it to not having them when it was “cool”. Maybe you weren’t as cute then and now your paycheck makes you look good, so you’re sharing more of yourself with women or men. Let me tell you, dating is expensive and sets the tone for martial expectations.

Recently I did the big chop as they call it, or as I say a fade. Bruh! $10 every few weeks feels so much better than $50+ bi weekly. And don’t get me started about buying weave. NO shade to my weave wearers (I recently exited weave rehab) but it’s expensive and no bundle comes long enough to free you like this fade. Baby, be real with yourself, diagnose the sickness and heal financially. What happens in the dark comes to light, and soon the world will know you’re broke regardless of the why.

You may be thinking, “So, she’s telling me what to do but she doesn’t pay her own bills on time?” LOL! I knew that was coming so let me tell you about me….This morning I automated all my bills (my savings is automated too). If I am going to win this thing I have to plan to win. Keyword WIN.

2017 is a few days away, what is your strategy to win?

Follow me on Instagram at:@money_and_mocha!

Let me know your thoughts and follow our conversations with these hashtags: #TheOMG #MoneyAndMocha

--

--

Ameisha Collins
The OMG Speaks

The heart behind “Money & Mocha” and the “Millennial Money Mentor” of The OMG Speaks