Why Creating Your Own Platform is Crucial to Your Success

Maleeka T. Hollaway
The OMG Speaks
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2018

This morning I woke up to an email that made my stomach curl. Without prior notice, Huff Post decided to end their contributor platform; meaning, over 100,000 unpaid contributors lost their access to publishing on the platform.

This sudden closure baffled me because Huff Post is one of the mediums that rose to fame because of its ability to provide an outlet for those who had something meaningful to say. And now, it has closed the door that opened up numerous opportunities for so many of us freelance writers.

The snatching away of opportunity alone made me question why I am so adamant about being heard on other platforms when in 2016, I launched my own. The bottom line is that unless you create a space to showcase your brand, business, and personality or you run the risk of placing your destiny in the hands of others. I get it. Credibility is a must in a social media driven age. But at what point do we as creators, inventors, and innovators decide that we will no longer put another “big brand” on if there is the possibility that at any time, we’ll get the short end of the deal?

I’m choosing to start today with refocusing on my platform and building it up to the point where it is seen as the NEW and IMPROVED Huff Post. Why?

Because I want to be in control of my voice.
Because I want to help others broadcast their opinions.
Because I never want to allow another platform to rip mine from under my feet.

As a professional in whatever capacity you may be serving or working in, it is vital that you have a source that you can draw from that doesn’t run the risk of “x-ing” you out. As my great-grand mother says, “Anything man-made is sure to fail,” consider that the majority of internet tools are “at-will.” And if you don’t live in an “at-will” employment state, this means that it can be here today and gone tomorrow at any time, for any reason and without warning. You need your own platform to keep this from being a problem for you. Your thoughts, ideas, and opinions are as valid as any other persons, so why not control the manner in which you are heard?

I am grateful for my 2.5 years as a Huff Post contributor, and I am sure that if the opportunity arises, I may find my way back to them. But in the meantime, I’m going to put my energy and focus on what matters…my platform. And you should do the same.

If you want to add your voice to my platform, The OMG Speaks, let me know! :)

xoxo,
Maleeka

--

--

Maleeka T. Hollaway
The OMG Speaks

Award-Winning Publicist • Brand Communications Entrepreneur • 3x Best-Selling Author • Millennial Thought Leader