The Best Free Video Editing Software: Da Vinci Resolve

It’s not as intimidating as it looks!

Ollie Ander
The Open Book Channel
4 min readJun 14, 2023

--

Thumbnail from the Open Book channel on Youtube.

What is DaVinci Resolve?
DaVinci Resolve Basics 101
Basics 102
Basics 103

I make advice and tip videos based on my personal experience as a writer and content creator, so I’m not actually all that tech savvy, and I haven’t grown to the point where I can take the time to use and review different software to let you know what I thought about them. But one of the programs I’ve been using a long time and have never introduced on the channel is Da Vinci Resolve.

Because I’m kind of on a tirade right now about giving other small creators information on how I conduct my own business as cheaply and professionally as possible, how could I not talk about Da Vinci Resolve? I’ve been using Da Vinci for a couple years now.

What is DaVinci Resolve?

DaVinci Resolve is the highest powered editing software with all the base effects and options you should need — as well as a lot you’ll never use unless you’re actually making a film– that’s FREE.

There is a paid and a free version, but if you’re just doing Youtube videos, the free version has always been enough for me. All you…

--

--

Ollie Ander
The Open Book Channel

Writer of brutally honest non-fiction & prose. Ollie hosts The Open Book channel on Youtube and Acidicink.ca. Editor of Crumpled Paper Press, and Bits & Bones