75 Words With a Cormac Chaser

A lingerie model was abducted from Macy’s window display

Daniel Lee
The Open Kimono
1 min readFeb 27, 2022

--

photo by author (de Young Museum)

He has been taking mannequins
and I suspect shenanigans.
He steals them from the fashion display
right during the day, “She’s my sister,” he’ll say,
“She’s suffering a malaise from being inside all day.”
Where does he take her?
Is his hard plastic lover a child of god
or of a mannequin maker?
Is it a sin with a mannequin?
And what is Harrogate doing to the watermelons?
I’m ninety percent sure that’s a felony.

“Even in this world more things exist without our knowledge than with it and the order in creation which you see is that which you have put there, like a string in a maze, so that you shall not lose your way.” (Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian)

--

--

Daniel Lee
The Open Kimono

I have worked as an editor and magazine journalist. My main interests were psychology and humor.