In Session 11

The Lay Psychiatrist does couple’s counseling

Daniel Lee
The Open Kimono

--

photo by author

Despite my tremendous girth I am an agile man, with such perfect flexibility I can stand flat footed with my back to the door and suddenly drop my head between my legs and look straight at it, upside down. That’s how I met Joe Rogan. We were at the gym, faced in the opposite direction, when by some psychic impulse we both looked back through our legs at each other, then waddled around quacking, while maintaining eye contact, for about ten seconds. It seemed much longer.

This is not behavior readily understood by beta males, but in the rarified atmosphere of extreme martial attitudes this behavior is understood to be a display of the transcendent spirit in the martial artist. The duck is at home on land or in the air, on the water and beneath the water.

The Warrior Artist knows The Way of the Duck. It’s a male bonding thing. Others may laugh at their own risk.

I was practicing the way of the duck when the door opened, and a couple stood transfixed in the doorway, staring at me in awe. It is well known that at the advanced level, the master does not break concentration no matter what, so I allowed these people to stand mute and socially paralyzed while I continued to waddle around with my head…

--

--

Daniel Lee
The Open Kimono

I have worked as an editor and magazine journalist. My main interests were psychology and humor.