Where You Can Be Saving More Money

Lola Menthol
The Open Mind Collective
4 min readNov 8, 2020

I’m about to break down for you some of the ways I’ve maintained a frugal lifestyle. I don’t have shopping sprees, I don’t buy the new iPhone as soon as it drops. I don’t get the latest gear nor do I get the latest sneakers.

I’m all for frugality but I also stand firmly beside taking very good care of yourself by eating healthy and making sure all your needs are met. Here’s a list that can help you reflect on where your money is going.

1.Eat at Home

Yes this will mean learning how to cook! I’ve saved so much money staying home and cooking for myself instead of going out or getting food delivered. It can also be healthier and you can decide what you want to include in your meal and what you don’t (I tend to leave out oil as much as I can, I don’t even buy it.)

Not going to lie, going vegan has forced me to learn how to cook but I am so grateful for that! You will save so much more eating at home than going out everyday. (P.s. eating vegan is not more expensive! It can be a lot cheaper than buying meat.)

Not to say don’t eat out ever! I believe in treating yourself and your loved ones once in a while. I say to do so if one can truly afford to that often.

2. Eliminate Unnecessary Monthly Subscriptions (I know this one can hurt):

  • Multiple streaming services (especially if you only use one)
  • Gym memberships you don’t use
  • Any memberships you don’t use
  • Monthly fees from your bank (give them a call see how you can avoid them)

3. Do It Yourself

You could save a lot of money by doing tasks yourself instead of outsourcing/hiring someone else. This will probably mean learning/mastering a new skill but hey! That’s a gain in my book.

Instead of outsourcing someone to design your cover art or engineer your music, you could learn how to do these things yourself. You could create your own website on services like Wix or Square Space.

4. (Another tough one) Cut back on buying cigarettes, alcohol, and/or drugs

I know this may seem like a no brainer for some but it can really be a true challenge. Especially when we do these things socially. This teeters on the subject of addiction but cutting back in this area can prove to save you a lot of money.

5. Buy Used

This obviously won’t apply to all purchases, but there are some things we don’t necessarily need brand new. Be sure to use your best judgement and do your research!

A reliable used car to get from A to B may not be a shiny sports car but will save you a lot in the long term and maybe set you up to get that sports car under more comfortable circumstances.

6. Compare Prices

I do this everywhere. Especially at the grocery store since that’s the only store you’ll find me at most often. You’d find me doing mental math in the produce section comparing different options and even different stores wondering if I could get a better price somewhere else.

Some might think this is excessive or going above and beyond just to save $1 but I think this habit is a great one to practice if you want to make the most of your cash. This way of thinking will also affect other areas of your life, not settling for the first offer you get. Always question if we can do better/get a better deal.

These are just a few ways I’ve been mindful of my expenses and saved money. By no means would I tell anyone what to do with their money because at the end of the day if we don’t enjoy it or put it to good use, what was the point?

However if you’re interested in saving more, these are some methods to consider! This can help make the difference, for someone like me, in self proclaiming “starving artist” or “financially independent.” The goal for me is to not let my expenses make me, or for me to be spent by money.

Lola Menthol is a singer/songwriter/rapper from New York currently living in California. She has been making music and videos for over a decade and is utilizing her skills from experience to create music videos for other artists with her multimedia production company LUCKY 1s MEDIA . You can find all her music on your favorite streaming platform.

Follow her on Instagram.

--

--

Lola Menthol
The Open Mind Collective

Artist, musician, curious, nomad. Just excited to be here.