How a Cockroach in my Living Room Helped Me Heal Childhood Trauma

Freedom and Forgiveness

Brenda Fredericks
The Opening

--

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

“How about you come over right now and kill it?” I asked my daughter, who was a 20 minute drive from my Brooklyn apartment.

It was 10:30pm and she refused.

She also playfully suggested I eat it. Ewww.

A friend texted me, “If it’s in the corner, you can squash it with pointy shoes.”

Ewwww, not getting that close, no way!

Did you know that cockroaches are incredibly BOLD? They can live without their head for a week, have been around since the time of the dinosaurs and can be up to six inches long.

All two inches of this guy sat in the middle of the room, huge and black, moving his antenna around like he owns the place. It reminds me that I want to be THAT bold, too.

A friend called me in that moment asking for advice and my first response to her was, “Hells Yeah, ask for that raise. Be like that cockroach — so bold.”

She laughed and told me, “I don’t mind scooping them up, but I totally understand that you don’t want to.”

Another friend told me to step on it. And hopefully it won’t be too crunchy, goopy or spray across the room.

--

--

Brenda Fredericks
The Opening

Musings on being a Woman and a Mother on a Spiritual Journey. In service to Truth and Joy. Cohost: Desire as Medicine Podcast. https://www.brendafredericks.com