What Power Do You Give Words?

Words give meaning to our experience, not the other way around.

Emily Perez
The Opening
4 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Becoming Undone from Milan Art Insitute

I’m currently fascinated by language.

Fascinated by my bilingual mind and my bilingual speaking.

I spent the day just breaking this down on a chart.

For whatever reason, it’s important for people to see this, for me at least.

Many people get caught up with speaking appropriately.

“Proper English”

“Proper Spanish”

“Proper [insert language here]”

“Proper grammar, syntax”

For me, when I speak English, I mix up my languages a lot and vice versa.

When I was younger it was less noticeable, but now that I’ve been learning an entire NEW language.

The language of the body and the language of the cosmos.

All these come through to my inner language chamber, and learning to translate THAT language, throws this bilingual speech processing a whole other layer of complexity!

Why is this important?

Language is how we directly communicate with each other here on this planet.

The process of this is FASCINATING!

There are different levels to this too.

For example, you can learn multiple languages but have a monolingual mind. Learning a language this way, all your processing goes through one language mind channel.

For me, I have a bilingual mind AND bilingual speech.

What this means is that my thoughts and experiences are in both languages in my mind.

There’s a world of interchanged language in there.

All of which is unattached to actually speaking out and delivering this message to you.

Mastering the delivery of the message to you is my work.

I call this, learning to communicate better.

It’s important to feel understood.

I want to be understood, deeply.

Feeling understood is completely my responsibility.

It requires skill and practice.

To speak in the specific language the person will understand me in. The words in my mind now need to swap or stay the same accordingly. And speak it.

And we do this, on the spot.

When we are told to translate for others, it doubles on the processing!

This is a fascinating skill to have!

There’s a world of language.

So many words! So many meanings we give them!

How much power we give them!

When trying to communicate, we become so creative.

There’s street talk.

There’s intellectual talk.

There’s spiritual talk.

There’s emotional talk.

There are personal thoughts and experiences.

Stories.

Perceived realities.

Illusion.

Trauma.

Learning “disabilities.”

Multiply that by millions. Because in each of those categories is a whole universe of expression.

And then there’s truth.

Your truth, the other’s truth, and most importantly, THE TRUTH.

Bottom line, there is no such thing as appropriate language.

It is a rule that someone created in order to keep order; another way to keep people in a box.

There is so much beauty in our expression and I support that more than I support receiving diplomas, certificates, titles.

Maybe it makes me a fucked up individual for saying this, but it’s really how I feel.

My body is allergic to most institutions.

We’ve gotten language arts backwards.

We’ve become too technical about it and we’ve forgotten the art!

Words give meaning to our experience, not the other way around.

When you read something, notice the feeling instead.

Notice how you feel when you read rather than the poor use of a word or poor grammar.

The language of The Feminine does not care about any of it.

She presents Herself like BOOM and then your job suddenly becomes one of using your creativity to express it.

Not every experience has words and it finds other ways to express.

There’s dance.

There’s song.

There’s service.

There’s play.

Gift giving.

The 5 love languages.

There’s moaning.

There’s deep breathing.

There’s loud exhales as you stretch.

There’s screaming into a pillow.

Banging your bed with your fists.

There’s laughter and tears.

When She comes, she blows to smithereens my language chamber and She requires me to unlearn many of the things that dam her full expression.

I am not sorry.

I am not sorry for my occasional stutter. For my mixing of words. For my Spanish accent that pops up. Or for my English Brooklyn accent that pops up or when the words don’t make sense.

I am not sorry for eating all the words that have once had so much power over me and birthing it out of my pussy as new ones.

What power do you give words?

What I do instead is that I take it all in.

All the words.

Let it have its way with me and then make the connection to what is true.

Every interpretation that is leftover from that, is mine to clear.

If you’d like to read more of my work, please follow me here.

Thanks for reading! We’d love to receive your submissions for our new publication.

--

--

Emily Perez
The Opening

Sensual Alchemist, Weaver of Journeys, Mother, Writer, Poet