Today I’m an Octopus Lover

He didn’t seem to mind

Kyla Kelley
The Opening
2 min readNov 16, 2020

--

He cut through my words

“So, what do you want?”

I fumbled around…

“Nothing. I do not know. I have so much already…”

He waited, unwavering from his question. Not retreating, not advancing, simply standing there, holding the pole for my next desire to come out as a request.

“Well”, I said. “I want to press my face into yours at the cheek.”

“I want to rub my chin firm and slow across your jaw and feel the scratchy stubble there while I take in your musky smell.

I want our legs to be all twisted together like pretzels.

I want one of your hands on my butt and the other in my hair.

I want to hear you say that you love me, and I am doing a great job.

I want to kiss you, rapid-fire on the lips while you struggle to keep up.

I want our skin touching skin, every inch.

I want to be soft with you, tender and held.”

…and then I took a long breath.

“OK,” he said.

Sometimes he calls me an octopus.

The way I like to envelop him with all my limbs and ooze us into one blob of skin. He finds the whole thing overwhelming but maybe it is just one more way I create shame in my lovemaking.

Maybe I am an ooey-gooey octopus. A strange, boneless, sticky creature. A slimy, sensual alien.

Maybe I am a regular woman, who likes it how I like it, and sometimes I like it soft and warm and slow and I want to feel

Every.

Little.

Thing.

Today he did not seem to mind.

If you’d like to read more of my work, please follow me here.

Thanks for reading! We’d love to receive your submissions for our new publication.

--

--

Kyla Kelley
The Opening

Intimacy Witch. Ritual Priestess. Writer. Mother. Wife. Creatrix. Weaving the divine with words onto page.