A Spell for Utopia

luciana achugar
The Operating System & Liminal Lab
2 min readMar 24, 2023

Is it possible to make something without trying?

…Trying feels like forcing something into being; something that is not yet ready to be itself or like “trying” to fit a square peg in a hole…

Is it possible to make a dance that becomes itself without trying?

…without trying to make it fit into some idea -some expectation, some preconceived notion- of what is beauty, what is good, what is relevant, what is important, what is special, what is new, what is me, what is mine…

Is it possible to grow a dance as one would grow a plant?

…tending to its needs… watering it and exposing it to sunlight to then observe how it grows, where it prefers to be, how much water it wants…

Is it possible to make a dance as a mirror of the process?

…a reflection of itself, not as a carbon copy but as an archive of the process, something that grows out of the relatings, the spaces in betweens the beings and the doings, a mirror as a way to turn the experience and the feelings of the process inside out -like a sweater- and to expose the patterns of the stitching…

Is it possible to let experience take the form it wants and needs to take without getting in the way of it, without judging it, accepting it, allowing it, letting the form of it be the mirror of its becoming?

A dance flower, a dance plant?

Is it possible to bury my body like a seed?

To lose myself into the soil, to disappear…

The pleasure of disappearing into the ground, to become part of it…

To dissolve my sense of self — the burden of being- into the ground…

To let the ground have me, hold me, take me, accept me, eat me…

swallow me into its womb…

to belong to it…

to be held..

To belong again…

To bury myself into the ground to remember what belonging feels like

to learn belonging from the soil

to learn belonging from my flesh feeling ground

to learn belonging from disappearance, from dissolution, from letting go

The pleasure in letting go of an idea of being someone

The pleasure to allow myself to be

swallowed,

digested,

felt,

touched,

known,

understood,

seen,

cared,

wanted,

received.

luciana achugar

March 2023

--

--