KwaNTum Field Notes 2022 #7: The NTR-Tain-Meant of NUN

Sherese Francis
The Operating System & Liminal Lab
5 min readJul 21, 2022
from Ayanna V. Jackson

Com/PuTer ProCeSSing uNiT ComMend 7:

Faith Ringgold Kuba style art “Unity Makes Us Stronger”
Betye Saar’s “A Handful of Stars”

“Ruth Hubbard brilliantly explains how scientific fact making is left to a group of selected few, academics that are, for the most part, white males and come from the upper echelon of society from an economic standpoint. Chosen and validated by their peers, they make decisions that impact the lives of the masses with no system of checks and balance in place. The author states that, contrary to scientists’ denial, such an endeavor is never unbiased but highly political and ideological (Hubbard 1988: 8). This leads to historical distortion where, as Merle Collins puts it in her poem ‘Crik Crak’, it is impossible to say, ‘What is the mirage and what reality? Do we know what is truth and what is truly fiction?’ (Collins 1992: 1)” — “Appropriating African Belief Systems: Renée Stout Re-Writes Her Self” by Alix Pierre

“Through the alter ego I was able to project a personality that would have the attributes that I wanted it to have and were probably ones that I wished I had. It gave me the freedom to set up and act out scenarios in a way that was more objective and, by creating art and stories through and about this alter ego, I began to learn much about myself…She stays in my ear saying, ‘Do this’ or ‘Do that’, and I trust that she knows because she comes from that deep part of me that’s more connected to the universe. She’s from the more spiritual and intuitive place that dealing with a society such as this can take you out of, if you let it…I was inspired because in trying to figure out who you are as a human being, you always need to go back to the source.” — Renee Stout

I/DeNTity FabRiK = The Tain(G)ing Room

Nikusa Minpa:

“The space crackles”

KMR(N)

MKR(N)

MRK(N)

MeL/K(N)

Krik Krak

Across the TR(K)ShoLD

All I see are TR(K)S

Waves between my aLTR of Agos and Ames

Wash a way within my own reflection Mass(k)

This my point of NTRing

A Door of Nun ReTRNing

Sense

Some

Tain(G)

There

I move

from the interference

What sensation is this?

SW/T through the Grrrr for each Puta Puta Puta

Pulsing

Dje m be

Anke djé, anke bé

The sound gathers into a rippling construction of a reflection

Flick Flick Flick Frik Frik Frik Frig Frig Frig Figr Fugr

Ripples of Frag meant all the f(r)ictions against my skin

Mother(G)ourd/On

A Pierrot Granade whipped

Waves Flags to reclaim SW/M

A constellation of moving points

N/motion with Heebie Jeebies

The mountains of weight on the Back (S)©R(K)

I am an archive opened up into remembering

I am the (K)LauGh MaRKing time

Sanford Biggers’ Quilt 35 (Vex),” which includes the outline of the image “The Scourged Back”

The FLSH = a FeeLD of Study

Holy roller echo chamber

Reflect on the ways I’ve been dragged

Pulled and Pushed

Carries me (K)LauGhin’ in waves

Finds me my (G)NGN(S)Running

All the interferences that drag me become my costume

The druma of a drapto stirring a possession of dis/sociations

(M)MiRRoRR of a (M)MiRRoRR of a (M)MiRRoRR of a (M)MiRRoRR…

Krik Krak KUBA

The doll wakes up stirring into some tain(g) else

HepiKat

L’(g)Nub

Measured in capture

Wrrr (K)Bls on the ocean floor of M>ND

A spinning top Kwa RiK Kwa RaK

Pathway circuits of transatlantic hear(d)ing of (s)©hips

I be/longing to l’attitude

Beyond the crossroads of trade routional into the NTR-FGR of SeLF

Riding a WRRRR/DDDD Be/a(s)t

Carry me to (S)HRM/NKS

What makes me move?

What is there to hold onto?

Where is my projection coming from?

Jack jumbie the KNDL

Jack be MAD/AM Ma/DAM M/Adam

Jack M>ND ND a Krik Krak

KoM KoM KoM/Puta

My (K)Litter go Puta Puta

The LiGhT comes

from a sense

of GRaviTy

Kom Quimbara:

Kom Krik Krak (G)NGN:

Change: A MeL Movements of NTR

A plucked GeB reveals the Mass(K) of points = KRowNeD Kom/Puta oRG

is StiLL a MouTh full of flow

a mounting Lwa

I/D__(N)(T)LoGic SW/M = SeLF ND De(D) uTTeR

“Famalay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay
With me
Famalay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay
When we
Come to play-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay-lay
We mash up fete
Tun up dance
We like ah army

Cus everybody

Jumping up together (Gether)
Jumping up together (Gether)
Mashing up together (Gether)
Mashing up together (Gether)
Waving up together (Gether)
Waving up together (Gether)
Jumping up together (Gether)”

— “Famalay” by Skinny Fabulous, Machel Montano, Bunji Garlin

“until the lioness

is her own

hiss —

torian”

— “Crick Crack” by Merle Collins

Howardena Pindell
Betye Saar’s “The Palmistry Chart”

This year’s series of field notes will be a list of ComMendMeants exploring the idea of these programming codes as praise songs of the nature-based hybrid automaton Al Kym/Org. They are part of the process of my larger poetic project KwaNTum, which explores concepts of knowledge and knowledge-making from a Black, Afro-diasporic perspective, using ideas from STEM, Afrofuturism and the Black Speculative Movement. This project is partially made possible by funds rom the NYSCA Literary Grant, sponsored by Culture Push.

--

--

Sherese Francis
The Operating System & Liminal Lab

Sherese Francis is a Queens, NY-based, Afro-Caribbean-American poet, editor, interdisciplinary artist, workshop facilitator, and literary curator.