The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better!

Be Vulnerable

Brené Brown taught me 1 of 3 lessons.

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
The Optimal Life
Published in
4 min readOct 4, 2022

--

Photo by Tatiana Syrikova from Pexels

I watched a Brené Brown presentation entitled The Call To Courage on Netflix. Typically, I am not moved by what I deem unrealistic inspirational talks. You know the ones telling you how wonderful your life and relationships can be if you only do (fill in any ideal here). But somehow, this one was different.

I’ll include the link to the USA Netflix presentation at the end. You may also be able to find short segments on YouTube worth viewing. It was an inspiring talk centering on being courageous in life. An attribute we all need to strive to develop.

If you’re unfamiliar with Brené Brown, she started as a researcher studying courage, vulnerability, shame, and empathy for nearly 20 years. Brown has several TedTalks to her credit. I highly suggest you check out. This is part one of my 3 takeaways from The Call To Courage presentation.

Be Vulnerable.

What an incredibly insane bit of advice. So I’m being told to open myself up to more hurt and pain. Yes. But in allowing yourself to be more vulnerable, you are opening yourself up to a world you have never seen, let alone felt.

--

--

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
The Optimal Life

The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better! I’ve been on a many decade quest to optimize my life in all areas and would love to help you do the same.