The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better!

Working Through Challenging Times

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
The Optimal Life
3 min readDec 1, 2022

--

At some point, your life will suck

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I’m not sure who “they” are, but they say that whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. It’s a nice sentiment, but if you’ve ever gone through a really challenging time, all of the lovely sentiments typically piss you off.

However, here’s what I’ve learned through experience.

At age 47, my wife and I separated and were on the path to divorce. It was my second failed marriage. I never thought I’d be divorced once, yet twice. It was at this time that I lost most of my furniture. Lost is what I like to call it, but it was taken when my wife moved out and ultimately left town. I found myself sleeping on the floor in my bare bedroom apartment with my clothes stacked along the room’s perimeter. Even during my college days when I lived in subsidized housing, I had never had such sparse conditions.

I rationalized my situation was temporary but still very depressing. After a week or so in the doldrums, I knew my physical conditions were not as easy a fix as my mental. I repeated to myself each morning before rising from the floor, “I create a life filled with purpose, love, and abundance.” There was no magic to this affirming phrase, but it reminded me of who I am and that I…

--

--

Stephen J. Lalla, LMNOP
The Optimal Life

The Optimal Life, It’s Not Perfect, Just Better! I’ve been on a many decade quest to optimize my life in all areas and would love to help you do the same.