PERSONAL ESSAY

Are You Afraid Of Setting Goals?

Start small and grow with time

Doosuur Gum
The Orange Journal
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2023

--

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

The first goals I ever set didn’t last a week. It was New Year’s Eve and everyone was talking about their resolutions. I thought to myself, ‘Why don’t I join the moving train and become better?’.

Well… joke’s on me. It didn’t last long before I gave up.

Why did this happen?

  • I had too many goals I wanted to accomplish all at once.
  • I didn’t know I had to stick to them in order to achieve them.
  • I didn’t settle down to write how I would achieve these goals.

After failing a few times, I did the following:

  • I set 3 smart goals.
  • I broke them into monthly, weekly and daily tasks.
  • I gave myself the grace to fail but to always get back up.

Try these and you won’t be afraid to set goals anymore

Enjoyed this post? Follow my page | Subscribe to get my post

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Doosuur Gum
The Orange Journal

Goal-setting enthusiast | Helping people stay productive | Sharing my growth journey | https://www.linkedin.com/in/doosuur-gum-791058166/