Dear School

A farewell to the four-walls I love to hate

Nkechinyere Ezeanuna
The Orange Journal
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2022

--

An empty classroom with a chalkboard.

Since I graduated two days ago, I think I’m in the best spirit to say a formal adieu

Dear School,

Today is the day I say farewell

To all the sleepless nights and the two cups of black coffee I gulped down with cold hate because I had no cream but I needed to be alert for test day. Farewell.

To the early mornings, where I would have to fight demons in order to get out of bed and still have to mange to not cry because I knew I wouldn’t be home until 7pm. Farewell.

To all the days where dread engulfed my entire being and still, I had to walk the hallways, day in and day out despite my crippling depression. Farewell.

To the formidable hallways where I felt all eyes cave in on me and make me want to disintegrate. Farewell.

To all the crowded isolation chambers aka the cafeteria and the parking lot staircase where I would go to hide from the world. Farewell.

To the last bathroom stall in the far right corner of C building with a penis drawing on the door, where I would have my many, many existential crisis episodes. Farewell.

To the teacher, whose name I could never remember that would let me grab candy from the candy jar meant for guests every day, religiously. Farewell.

To the media center which I would try, often unsuccessfully, to skip class because the librarians took their jobs way too seriously, Farewell.

To the Pep rallies, which happened to be one of the most impossibly cringy train wrecks I have ever been forced to witness because the teachers just couldn’t wait to show how “cool” and “fun” they were, Farewell.

To the lemon pepper fried wings that the cafeteria lady that would serve on Fridays(I wanted to marry her, that’s how good it was), Farewell.

To my teammates that did a horrible job of gossiping about me(the point is for me to not hear you. That’s how that’s done) and to the benches that I rode so hard it blows my mind that I am not pregnant, Farewell.

To the beautiful yet spiteful lover that is French, which I spent three years learning just to not be able to speak a lick of it afterwards, Farewell.

To the plethora of clubs I would have loved to try but couldn’t because of my indifference and lack of time management, Farewell.

To the cross-country team that I ran with for only one season which humbled me all the way to hell, Farewell.

To Physics. Need I say more. The trauma still rings my fingers as I type this. Farewell.

To the many tests which I would have mental breakdowns during, after realizing how incredibly stupid I was in the material that I refused to study for weeks. Farewell.

To the in-humane pop up quizzes that my Spanish teacher loved to give us to see if we were “paying attention” during a movie that he said was put on for “fun.” Farewell.

To the nights spent burning the midnight lightbulbs and my eyes, as I frantically worked on the project due the next day. Farewell.

To the horrific outfits I would slap on because I simply couldn’t manage to muster not even a single flying Fu — Farewell.

To the closing of this door as I move out to the real world and to the beginning of my next chapter, Hello.

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Nkechinyere Ezeanuna
The Orange Journal

I was simply created to create. I love this cause this is literally the only thing that comes relatively easy to me.