HUMAN NATURE / PSYCHOLOGY / INTROVERT / PET / DOG / CAT

Dogs vs Cats — Why Dogs are More Popular as Pets?

They both are equally cute and adorable

🌈LIFE LESSON
Published in
4 min readFeb 20, 2023

--

A dog and a cat
Photo by Tran Mau Tri Tam ✪ on Unsplash

It should come as no surprise that the most popular pet in the world is the dog. ~worldpopulationreview.com

Dogs and cats are the most popular household pets in the world. However, dogs seem to be having an edge to be the most popular according to the reports and surveys conducted.

Why is it so?

They both are adorable and affectionate to the owners in general, but cats are perceived to be more aloof and mysterious as opposed to dogs. Hence they lose out to dogs.

Cats may be too aloof or cold to the liking of some people. Some people may question, “I give you free lodging, free food, and clean up your ‘mess’, yet you still show your ‘cold’ face to me after what I have been doing for you?’

“You don’t open up to me, you are mysterious!”

“I might as well get a dog. They are way more lovely and open, their smile makes me feel what I do for them is appreciated.”

“They love me dearly for who I am.”

Photo by Francesco Ungaro: https://www.pexels.com/photo/blue-and-white-cat-eye-3324591/

The same goes for human nature.

Humans want to feel they are appreciated for what they do or who they are.

A friend said I’m like a cat — aloof, quiet, and hardly interacting with people.

My sister is like a dog — she shows affectation openly, is friendly, and you often hear laughter when she is around.

My sister doesn’t mind being silly as it always makes people giggle and laugh, this is her charm.

I’m more of a reserved person and more sensitive in nature. I am afraid to be the laughingstock of the people.

So you can tell who is more popular.

My sister is proactive while I’m more passive.

I have been misunderstood.

Just like the cat.

Here is the proof:

Once cats have learned that their owners respond to meows, many develop a range of sounds that, by trial and error, they find are effective in specific circumstances. In this way, many cats and their owners gradually develop an individual “language” that they both understand but that is not shared by other cats or owners.

So cats demonstrate great flexibility in how they communicate with us, which rather contradicts their reputation for aloofness. ~ Bradshaw

~Bradshaw is the director of the Anthrozoology Institute at the University of Bristol School of Clinical Veterinary Science in Britain. He has studied cat behavior for more than 30 years.

So, cats are not as aloof as we perceived! But this causes them to be in the second spot of the most favored pets in the world!

I have surely missed out on many opportunities in life be it in my personal life or career as an introvert!

Parting words

So, for some introverts out there, you may want to consider being more open and proactive(if you haven’t done so and you wonder why you haven’t achieved your goals) to people around you so that you won’t be misunderstood as being aloof.

More importantly, you won’t miss out on many opportunities to achieve your goals in life and the goodies that you could get by being more proactive and friendly.

--

--