Getting Off An Imaginable Race

For those who are tired of racing.

Cilia Madani
The Orange Journal
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2022

--

Photo by Austin Loveing on Unsplash

Don’t kill the plant you’ve watered for years

No matter how much progress we do, no matter how hard it took us to get there and no matter how brave and productive we were, the moment we compare our life, work, and progress to others all we’ve done, for years, can easily turn into ashes. For a moment it can look insignificant and tiny.

From my experience with old similar feelings, I learned the hard way that it only looks so because you are doing the wrong comparison. One must only compare one’s past to the present for the sake of making a better future. Everything other than that must literally sink.

Relax, no race, only spiral unidentical pathways

I don’t know why we humans subconsciously think most of the time that we’re in a never-ending race with others. A race whose goal is to determine who’s going to get a better education, career, social position, partner, and so on. Some of us have this inner feeling (maybe you do too) with friends, relatives, and sometimes strangers. The feeling of being in an imaginary race with others, the feeling that you have to prove something to the world, show them that you’re good too or even better and worthy of admiration.

Don’t prove, just move

I learned, as you reader should, that the only person to whom I need to prove my intention, my capabilities, and my goodness is myself. The others can think whatever they like about me, what matters is how I think about myself.

The takeaway

In this life, you take a path that doesn’t resemble anybody else’s path. Embrace it, walk it at your pace, don’t look left or right to see other people and get distracted, focus on your self and you’ll arrive just on time.

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Cilia Madani
The Orange Journal

Junior Machine Learning Engineer | Former GDG/WTM organizer | into books, self Dev and other stories