Girl on Fire

What happens when love burns?

Nkechinyere Ezeanuna
The Orange Journal
Published in
3 min readSep 13, 2022

--

Photo by Rafael Santos from Pexels

You and I. You said there was only you and I against the world. Only you and I could understand each other. Where people saw chaos, we knew passion. When people heard our turmoil, we knew love. Just the way that our love goes. That’s what you used to say to me.

You would take and take and take then take some more. Even when there was nothing left to take, I would muster up the strength to cough up more. For you are my tax collector and I am your lover.

Ignoring Red Flags

I saw how people would turn you away and call you trouble but I just couldn’t resist. I saw how they treated you like a pariah and would shun you, I just wouldn’t budge. How can just a mere man cause people to twist their faces in disdain? What could they possibly perceive without even getting to know you? I saw you through different lenses, one not tinted with red but one that gave you the grace to be something more than a troublesome wreck.

I saw a burning bright light in you. You were brimming with potential. You were not like how they said you would be. You couldn’t. Your magnificence glowed off you so effortlessly that even if they were blind to it, at least you could see it. At least you could see it the way I could not stop seeing it.

Running to the Fire

So I came to you. You said I was an apparition. Sent by the gods to reveal your fate. A fate that included me. A fate that made me your savior. We threw ourselves in a red, hot passion. It was like flames and fireworks erupted every time we were near. I couldn’t get enough of it.

The fervent fire that was in you never stopped aching for me and the arsonist in me couldn’t resist your heat. I couldn’t resist your soft lips and hands that would ignite my very soul.

I saw you on a hill and you were set on fire. I ran to save you, to heal you, to mellow the flames you brought upon yourself. But what I didn’t realize was that I would be on fire too. Burning at your stake to my death with nothing to show for it except my dead corpse and stolen soul. My name is now added to the long list of stories as predictable as mine had been.

Boy meets Girl. Boy is trouble. Girl sees more than that, she believes she is the elixir to all of his problems. Girl gives her all to him and offers all her love until he finally loves her. He — literally loves her to death. Alas, I have become your girl on fire, burning because of love, giving you the very last thing that I can give, my soul.

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Nkechinyere Ezeanuna
The Orange Journal

I was simply created to create. I love this cause this is literally the only thing that comes relatively easy to me.