Here Are All the Ways You Sabotage Yourself

These ways are often so subtle, that you aren’t aware until you have the language to understand the phenomena

Harmony S
The Orange Journal
Published in
4 min readJun 4, 2022

--

Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

I’ve needed years of practicing self-care to overcome some of the limiting beliefs I’ve held about myself for nearly my entire life. Why I’ve suffered so much from psychological torment is another story, one that’ll take me a little bit longer to come to grips with since acknowledging its truth would lead to the realization of how unsafe my childhood was.

Limiting beliefs are negative ideas about yourself and the world that you’ve accepted to be as true as the blue sky, and the consequences of holding those beliefs are enough to prevent you from leading the most fulfilling life possible. “I can’t do x because y” is one very common example, though that hardly scrapes the surface.

So let’s go down the list and you can check off whichever ones apply to you.

Being overly humble

This one is annoying. You think you’re being fair and humane by not taking any credit for your own work. All you’re doing is discouraging others from seeing you as competent in your pursuit.

Giving yourself extra rules you don’t give to other people

--

--

Harmony S
The Orange Journal

H A P P Y and you should be TOO!!! LIFE IS AMAZING 👏🦝🦄🌺🍭I write for ILLUMINATION, The Memoirist, Fuck Niches, and The Orange Journal.