How to Write a Personal Manifesto that Inspires You to Live Your Best Life

Your future self will thank you

Casey McGrath
The Orange Journal
Published in
12 min readJul 20, 2022

--

Photo by Yannik Pulver on Unsplash

We’ve all had an unprecedented couple of years. Many of us, myself included, have felt a little lost. I know I’m not alone. As someone who worries too much about things I can’t control, I’ve been more anxious over the last two years.

So much has changed in my life in the past three years. My long-term relationship and engagement came to a painful end, resulting in moving across town and losing a network of friends I had held dear for years. I almost lost my dad in a debilitating car accident that permanently affected his medical and financial wellness.

And, like everyone, I lived through a global pandemic. During the pandemic, everything felt suspended until I was suddenly on the other side. For a while, I’ve felt like I needed a reset to refocus my mind and path toward my goals.

I was writing in my journal one day, reflecting on the ways the pandemic has shifted my perspective on things in life that I had previously taken for granted. I felt the desire to create a roadmap for myself to follow, principles by which I want to live my life that align with my intentions for the future.

Then, I remembered an exercise I did in a leadership course in college where I had to…

--

--

Casey McGrath
The Orange Journal

Compulsively curious Professional Writer with a penchant for self-development, healthy living, psychology, history, & the creative process.