I Haven’t Written Since January, and Here’s Why

Is it the algorithm that sucks, or is it me?

Brandy Eaton
The Orange Journal
Published in
2 min readJun 8, 2023

--

Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

I haven’t written since January, and I still have no motivation to write because of one reason.

Writing has been an escape for me for years now. The ability to write whatever I want, whether that be informative or for entertainment. To write about what is on my mind, as it may be on yours as well. To write about heavy topics in my opinion without feeling like I will get berated.

It is such a breath of fresh air being able to write and speak your mind.

But lately, I haven’t been feeling that way. Lately, it has felt like a chore.

Why?

There are various reasons but the one I continue to grow increasingly upset over is, the lack of engagement. No matter how much time I take to write a piece, I am lucky to get a few likes and possibly one comment..

Why you may ask? Your guess is as good as mine.

I am not one of those writers who can put a piece together in a few hours. It takes me days with my fingers attached to the keyboards with my ring finger constantly tapping the backspace.

I have read hundreds of similar articles titled, “Why Your Audience Isn't Growing, and Tips on How To Succeed on Medium”, “Is the Algorithm Off?”, “Five Ways to Increase Your Engagement and Start Earning Money”.

Even though, writing for me isn't about the money, it is about the engagement. About people, like you, getting something out of what I wrote that took me 3 days and 6 energy drinks to write. To read comments from people, like you, who understand and can connect with the words on the screen that I produced.

Are people still even on Medium? Or am I one of the few left here thinking I must just suck at being relatable? Or maybe it is my writing causing the ghost town that is my page?

Have you been here? Are you here now?

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Brandy Eaton
The Orange Journal

Jesus above all else. Just an Athletic Trainer/ Fitness Instructor trying to write from home with my cats.