I Paid Off The Mortage at 36

Here’s how I did it, despite low earnings

Scribbling Lion
The Orange Journal
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2022

--

Image by author

I paid off my mortgage by the age of 36 by practising careful money management. Before buying a house, I invested my modest earnings for maximum growth. This meant I had to live carefully, spend little, and make my money count for as much as possible.

Rather than spending my money first and saving what was left, I saved first and only spent on absolute essentials.

I invested my savings wisely, for growth. I watched my savings grow threefold and more — until I had a big deposit for a house. That’s how I got on the housing ladder. Then I continued to live carefully until I’d paid off my mortgage at the age of 36.

Read about how I started my investment journey here:

Read about four things I sacrificed to become wealthy here…

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Scribbling Lion
The Orange Journal

Here to tell stories that will entertain, shock & inspire.