I Tried ‘No Sugar June’

You should see how that went!

Sneha Pastekar
The Orange Journal
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2023

--

The Team — Image by Sneha Pastekar

My mind is a planet of ideas. Like on Jupiter, the high-density gases keep floating across the surface, overshadowing each other at different time intervals. Sometimes, one might stop floating, hold still, get my attention, and lead to a sudden inspiration. One such was an absolutely random, sudden bolt of lightning that required no second thought.

It was an inner voice telling me that I should do something for myself. The ‘No Sugar June’ flag hoisted itself up in my brain, declaring independence from sugary foods.

How tempting to be stronger, to be sure of what you want.

Only, could I really fight my own mind?

Okay, disclaimer: I don’t have a sweet tooth. However, I have a mental ‘things to marry’ list that includes ice creams, occasional pastries, rolls, pizzas, brownies… and the last one, cheese, lots of innocent harmless cheese.

I have to confess that it was not me alone, but my work team, a bunch of us who followed the No Sugar June drive.

What is it all about?

We decided to monitor and control our sugar intake, which mainly included unnecessary cups of tea and coffee, biscuits, bread, and also outside food. Anything that was unhealthy, was to be avoided.

However, I did not 100 percent cut off or punish myself. When I craved a food item, and when it was occasional, I relished it, guilt-free. I believe that when you completely and suddenly stop something, it tempts you even more and you end up eating it more than before.

Also, we are habituated to certain beverages at certain times of the day. I replaced my coffee time with a tall glass of juice, fruit, or simply water. Trust me, it was not the same and initially, there was a constant irritation of missing the usual sugary drink. The times I had coffee, I gradually reduced the amount of sugar till I came to zero sugar.

Just a month later, I can’t stand normal coffee with sugar anymore. My mind has adapted to sugarless coffee.

How did the routine go?

Whenever I did grocery shopping online, I added bread but removed it just before checkout. I started looking for healthier breakfast recipes online.

I started picking vegetables over bakery products.

For my Jupiter of a mind, the gaseous cloud called yoga now flitted right in and chose to hover till I took note. Long walks became a nightly ritual. I slept better.

I still want to emphasize that our team lunches and dinners never ceased. We laughed a lot and continued to look after each other.

We felt lighter and free from control. When we craved fancy food, we cooked for the entire team and engaged in routine potlucks.

It has been a month and never did I feel I was punishing myself. I embraced many many new things on the way and proudly had sugar or controlled sugar when I wanted to.

And finally, I am surprised at the number of things I left or reduced and how my choices only boosted my confidence. I know I am in control.

To those, who pointed out that I have lost weight and looked happier, now you know!

Wondering what should be the next thing we can work on as a team; maybe ending the ‘that’s what she said jokes’.

Or.

Maybe not.

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Sneha Pastekar
The Orange Journal

I love Literature, enjoy reading my heart out, am an animal whisperer and a writer.