If The Foundations Are Shaky…

Psalm 11:3a

Akondu
The Orange Journal
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2022

--

Photo by Scott Blake on Unsplash

This article was birthed by heartbreak. Not of the kind you probably are thinking.

A few days ago, there was a school shooting in the USA. I could go on and on about how terrible the gun laws are in that country and of course how devastating that unfortunate event was but we know all of that already. Whilst the news slowly took over my Twitter feed, I followed a train of thoughts that landed me smack in the middle of the memories of my elementary (or primary, as it’s called here) school experiences.

In that awful shooting, two teachers were killed and I was left wondering how much I could remember about my primary school teachers; Their habits, the sound of their voices, and the funny demonstrations they used to make in class. My teachers were all-around lovely people and today, I choose to be grateful for the role they played in laying a solid foundation for me and my peers.

Oftentimes, I catch myself being angry (for lack of a more fitting word) at people who seemingly do not have big dreams. While I understand that it is okay to aspire to live a simple life where you are content with having just what you need, I have had a difficult time understanding why people whom I think have potential decide to just ‘be’ and not always ‘do’. As I grow older and come across people from many different backgrounds, I realise every day that because we did not all have the same foundation, we cannot all have the same attitude towards life.

I am forever grateful that I passed through the crop of teachers that I had. Between the ages of 5–10, I was already certain that the world is my oyster. It is different when you have teachers who do not only teach because they didn’t succeed in their dreams, teachers who are well compensated for their work and who genuinely want to see you grow and succeed. In my developmental years, I learned every day the power of grit, hard work, and consistency in the kindest and most practical ways.

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

Nothing but the best.

That was the motto of my primary school. Cool, I think. You’d think the “best” they refer to applies to only academics. Nothing could be further from the truth. I thought it was weird that on our Prize-Giving Days, we weren’t awarded like kids in other schools, as there were no awards for the best pupils in individual subjects. Instead, we got awarded for being human. You could be awarded for being the most helpful, kind, funny, patient, or cheerful. I remember winning the award for “Consistency” four years in a row. If my younger self saw how much I struggle with something that was once my forte, she’d shake her head in disgust. Girl, give me a break.

Now, consider that kind of solid foundation and the ripple effect it will have on a growing child. The constant reminder to be a kinder person, a helpful person, and a better human being. Knowing that your grades should be great but generally do not define you goes a long way in shaping how you view academics and success in general. For that background, I am grateful.

So what I’m saying?

As much as I do not consider myself a fan of motivational speakers, I think it is important to grow with the knowledge that whatever you want to be is not outside your reach and this is not even about childhood alone. If you do not know the possibility of it coming to pass, it is impossible to work towards it. Then you find yourself settling because the world you know is not bigger than your sphere of influence.

So please, dream.

PS: Primary school teachers should earn a lot more than they currently are earning.

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Akondu
The Orange Journal

Software developer sometimes. Over thinker at other times. -Documenting both journeys here.