Maybe I Should Challenge Sylvester Stallone to a Round in the Ring

I can’t help but wonder how I might fare

Joy DeSomber
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2022

--

Photo by Ron Lach on pexels

A massage therapist recently asked me if I’m a boxer. I don’t think she was referring to a short-haired dog. She told me my shoulders felt like a boxer’s. This was not the first time I’ve been told I have boxer’s shoulders. I don’t box. I’m excellent at getting back up again, as Rocky says in the motivational video below.

Tasers and me

As part of training for my current job, we went through Taser training, and each of us was tasered. The thinking is that officers are less likely to use or overuse the Taser because they’ve been tasered themselves.

Occasionally, an officer will be in a tussle with an individual, and one of the prongs accidentally hits the officer, so they “take the ride” along with the suspect. Additionally, in court, if they’ve tasered a suspect, an officer is sometimes asked if they’ve been tasered themselves. It’s better when the officer can confirm that they have, so they understand what it feels like.

--

--

Joy DeSomber
The Orange Journal

Single mom of three. Veteran. Cop. I write a variety, including humor, gratitude, trauma, travel, and more, always reinventing myself.