Increase Mindfulness & Productivity By Changing How You Perceive Time

Do you feel rushed? This hack will help you slow down while getting more done.

Writer Shep
Published in
6 min readJan 20, 2022

--

A slow sloth just hanging and smiling.
Photo by Matt ODell on Unsplash

Have you ever tried to stay mindful and present while feeling rushed? It doesn’t work. “Slow is smooth, smooth is fast” may be the solution for you. Let me explain.

If you are like I was, I believed that the harder and faster I worked the more I would excel and accomplish in a shorter period of time. I even became an overachiever with a long list of great awards and successes. However, I rarely felt fulfilled or accomplished.

The problem with pushing yourself and rushing is that the feeling of satisfaction never stays. You feel self-induced pressure to hurry onto the next thing, then the next and the next after that. Time becomes something to beat. It’s always: just one more email, just one more paper, just one more call, just one more… Time no longer feels like a gift but an enemy. It is nearly impossible to remain in a mindful and present state while feeling rushed.

The good thing is that you can still get it all done while remaining mindful and present. It all revolves around your perception of time and learning to slow down the right things in the right way.

Slow is Smooth, Smooth is…

--

--

Writer Shep
The Orange Journal

Copywriter, Writer, Editor. I am an empath & light healer. Engaging others through the written word to find hope, healing, laughter, and joy in the journey!