Most Important Facts About Epilepsy

Understanding Epilepsy

Pamela Oglesby
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2022

--

Photo by Geralt at Pixabay

Friend’s Epilepsy Experience

My friend, Beth (an alias) has epilepsy that is triggered from the memory area of her brain, so she never remembers the seizures. She just told me about her circumstances last week.

Her seizures vary in intensity, which is common. However, after spending a week in Mayo Clinic she learned they can’t help her with surgery or any of the more advanced treatments.

I saw someone having a seizure when I was in elementary school. I was walking out of school at the end of the school day, and this girl fell on the ground shaking. None of us knew what happened, but it was scary. We ran and got a teacher.

Epilepsy

Epilepsy is a brain disorder that is characterized by repeated seizures, although there are people who have only had one seizure. Generalized seizures are more common in adults, and 25% have tonic-clonic seizures.

Epilepsy is defined as a sudden alteration of behavior due to a temporary change in the electrical function in the brain. The brain normally sends out tiny electrical impulses in a continuous orderly pattern. .

Some people with seizures simply stare blankly into space for a few seconds, which Beth says…

--

--

Pamela Oglesby
The Orange Journal

I have been writing online for 15 years. I have won 5 Medium top writer awards,. I write about medical issues, human interest and relationship stories..