Mt Baldy Is The Hidden Gem Of Southern California Skiing

Baldy is cheaper, less crowded, and closer to home than the competition

Theodore Wells
Published in
4 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

two black ski runs at mt. baldy ski resort on a sunny day
Mt Baldy — Photo By Author

Skiing is one of my favorite winter sports. If you’re more of a snowboarder, that’s fine too. Growing up in the Midwest, our biggest slope was a 300 ft hill called Perfect North, which was a great place to learn, but not much more than that. The thing about me is that I don’t ski enough to have my own set, though I might as well at this point. It would have saved me quite a bit of money by now.

But anyway, I have been looking for a place to go skiing in SoCal where I can make a day trip if I want, and won’t cost me an arm and a leg. All of my friends told me I needed to do either Big Bear Mountain or Mammoth, but if you are familiar with those places, they are both expensive, and not that close to LA proper. Big Bear and Mammoth are 2.5 hrs and 5.5 hrs from home, respectively. So those two are definitely not on the “day trip” list. Big Bear is bordering it, but it would be a long day.

Then I found Mt. Baldy. Except everybody I know in SoCal said that Baldy is the worst. It is a smaller mountain (still above 8k ft), but I don't think they’ve given it a fair chance. In comparison, Mammoth is absolutely massive, hence the name. And Bear is at least twice as big as Baldy. But Bear and…

--

--