My Beacon of Light

She’s always shining brightly when I’m frightened and alone in the dark.

Chris Patton
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2023

--

Photo Credit: Gaia Armellin — Unsplash

This bed I’m lying in is a tiny old boat,
Battered and tossed about mercilessly,
By the frightening storms that come each night.

I’m not always sure I can see it through,
And I’m lost at sea, floating aimlessly,
When she’s not with me.

She is the bright beacon of light I need,
That guides me through these dangerous waters,
And into her safe and protective harbor.

Copyright © 2023 Chris Patton

Thank you for reading! I often do my writing in my favorite little coffee shop. I would be very grateful if you would consider supporting my writing by buying me a coffee! ko-fi.com/chrispatton1145

Click here if you would like to read more from Chris Patton.

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Chris Patton
The Orange Journal

I write authentically about my journey with PTSD so that others may benefit from my experience. I also write about love and longing.